Book review: “Ready Player One”

image

Book title: “Ready Player One”

Author: Ernest Cline

Publication year: 2011, this Arrow Books edition came out in 2012

Number of pages: 374

Format: paperpack

Personal copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:
In the year 2044, reality is an ugly place. The only time teenage Wade Watts really feels alive is when he’s jacked into the virtual utopia known as the OASIS. Wade’s devoted his life to studying the puzzles hidden within this world’s digital confines—puzzles that are based on their creator’s obsession with the pop culture of decades past and that promise massive power and fortune to whoever can unlock them.

But when Wade stumbles upon the first clue, he finds himself beset by players willing to kill to take this ultimate prize. The race is on, and if Wade’s going to survive, he’ll have to win—and confront the real world he’s always been so desperate to escape.

Review:
HOLY SMOKES WHAT A BOOK!!!
So that sentence perfectly wraps up everything I have to say, but I am still going to say more.

This is exactly the kind of book that will remind you of why you love reading so much. This book is the perfect example of a bookish getaway, sure it has it’s ups and downs, but trust me when I say that all of the downs are secondary.

So I am going to start off negative. The only thing that was bad…the future. That’s right. The future is a dreadful time to be alive. Especially when we have run out of fuels, everything is covered in dirt or dust and people are dying of hunger and wars. And then there is the OASIS. The perfect getaway from reality. Everything that people did to earn money and buy things happened in the OASIS or at least based on the system. If you wanted yo pay for something, it came off your credits. Want to put up a business, you program it into the system.
It is quite scary to think what it would actually be like, if 2044 was anything like in “Ready Player One” . People literally locked themselves into their homes and spent hours, even days, in the OASIS. People got married in there and got families, without leaving and meeting in real life. Now talk about weird right.

I get that something as complex and interesting as the OASIS would be a good thing, sure, in a lot of ways if you thought about it and knew how to use it without actually ruining your own life.
It was a really nice concept, it showed how obsessed we actually are with technology and what it could do to all of humanity.

But enough of the deep thinking and wondering. Let’s get down to the good stuff…which is everything else.

The ’80s references were awesome especially, because I understood most of them *pats my own shoulder* . I had a total geek alert whenever Star Wars was mentioned :’)
I enjoyed how the main characters were all really into the whole Easter egg hunt and how they really dug into all the information they could get and reveled in the ’80s culture. In fact it was also one of the interesting things about the setting of the book, the whole ’80s coming back thing, that I enjoyed.

Of course the book had sassy protagonists (the only thing that matters in life and books) . The profanity and humour was something that made me laugh out loud in multiple places e.g. Wade’s nice chat with Sorrento (the evil guy) , a certain few paragraphs on certain needs and so on.

My favourite character was Aech, although I loved Wade too, duh. There was something about Aech that I liked from the moment we were first introduced to him. And what made me like him even more was the certain thing that we discovered and made my brain go *boom* , because I honestly did not see that one coming. I am not gonna give anything away, find out for yourself. But the thing that really need to be aaid about Aech is that his character shows us how all the problems in today’s society are still there in the future, just like these problems have existed all through history.
The book in fact mentions quite a few rougher topics albeit a bit changed.

There was a geeky romance. It was really cute and showed that true love can still happen in a technology ridden world. Yay!

The quest was amazing. The way everything was thought out and put together just blew me away. The details and clues and just…wow. I actually started trying to think along with Wade and see if I could figure at least something out based on my own knowledge and the things I learned from the book. Did I actually figure something out? No.
To be honest Cline’s book made me feel like an idiot. That’s right.

The intelligence of the characters and the obvious genious which is the author made me realise that I will never be that cool. Ever. So allow me to cry over that fact a bit.
And then whoop with joy, because this book was the best thing I have read in a while and it got me out of my reading slump.

Aitäh Ernest Cline 🙂

 

Check the book out on Goodreads.

4 comments

  1. zainabshykh · February 23, 2016

    I’m really excited to read this book because of all the wonderful things I have heard about it.
    By the way, excellent review! and also congrats because it was your first one. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. hiraethforthepages · February 26, 2016

    I haven’t read this book and although it has gushing ratings, I was a bit hesitant, but I think I might give it a shot (thanks to your review!) I love sassy characters, my brain ‘booming,’ and a little geeky romance so I’m excited to see how it goes. Brilliant review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

