Book review: “Girl Online: On Tour”

image

Book title: “Girl Online: On Tour”

Author: Zoe Sugg

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 338

Format: hardcover

Personal copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 3☆

Blurb:
The sequel to the number-one bestseller Girl Online. Penny joins her rock-star boyfriend, Noah, on his European music tour.

Penny’s bags are packed.

When Noah invites Penny on his European music tour, she can’t wait to spend time with her rock-god-tastic boyfriend.

But, between Noah’s jam-packed schedule, less-than-welcoming bandmates and threatening messages from jealous fans, Penny wonders whether she’s really cut out for life on tour. She can’t help but miss her family, her best friend Elliot . . . and her blog, Girl Online.

Can Penny learn to balance life and love on the road, or will she lose everything in pursuit of the perfect summer?

Review:
I have to be honest and say I didn’t like it as much as the first one. The start was a little slow and overall there was too much drama for my liking in this book.

I also found it really hard to feel sympathy towards Penny at times. She just seemed really whiney and too teenagery (are those two real words? ) and just looked like a really naive little girl.

Of course I also found it hard to be crazy about Noah. I did like him better than Penny, that is for sure, but I hated how he kept making empty promises even when he knew the chances of getting private time with his girlfriend were slim.

I am no rockstar so obviously I have no idea what it is to be on tour, but the way they just assumed everything will be easy was too…I don’t know, ignorant?

Blake and Dean were just douches and of course ruined everything.
I really hated it when Noah accused Penny of making a move on Blake when it was the other way around. Noah always kept saying how he loved Penny and would always be there for her and trust her no matter what. And then his friend, who was probably hungover from last night, ran to him and told Noah a story that he would much rather believe than the story of his girlfriend, who has been nothing but honest with him.

But also I feel like Penny unconsciously made a lot of things just about her. I get it okay, you feel let down and to be honest I would too, but you are on a tour and you have the opportunity to go and see so many great things. Penny is such a bright girl and I feel that if she had pulled herself together, she would have had so much more fun and maybe she could have avoided some things that happened.

The only two characters I really loved were of course Elliot and Larry. Good old Wiki and the security guard, who turns out to be a total teddy bear. They were there for Penny, helped her through some tough times and just put a smile on my face, because they are the kind of people I would very much like to know in real life.
Of course I have to mention Penny’s parents and brother Tom, who are all very supportive and understanding. They are a really cool family that makes you believe in good things.

But it is all made up in the end. Nothing in life is this perfect or good. The books (both the first and this one) are rather cheesy and cliché and I do like reading books like this, but there is a line somewhere and I have realised in the few days I have been reading “Girl Online: On Tour” that this duology crosses the line. It took me a while to realise this, but I guess I have been hit by a reality check.

I am not saying that you should never read these books and they deserve to be burned in the pits of hell. No. Read these books or just this book if you feel like it, when you want something light and fastpaced. It’s always good to have a little bit of cheese before moving on with more serious books.

Aitäh 🙂

 

Check the book out on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

