February Wrap Up

February was a good month for reading. I did fall into a reading slump, but I managed to read some really really good books. Most of them I took from the library because who doesn’t love a free book, right?

I read a total of nine books this month and I am very proud. I have also brought my Goodreads challenge up to 21 books read out of 70.
image

Now I will give an overview of all the books I read and shortly talk about them and then pick which was my favourite and least favourite book.

Paperbacks and hardcovers:

* “Odüsseia: Odysseuse eksirännakud” by Stelio Martelli (took from the library)
image

This book I read for school and I liked this edition a lot more than the one I read before it. The illustrations were really great and it was an enjoyable read. I cave it 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

* “City of Heavenly Fire” by Cassandra Clare (borrowed from a friend)
image

After what- a year? – I finally read this book and have to say I wasn’t quite happy with it. I was thinking that this series would end with a really big bang, so it wasn’t quite what I was waiting for and I was a little disappointed, but it was still good. I cannot wait to read the Dark Artifices. I gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. It was good, but could’ve been better.

* “Me Before You” by Jojo Moyes (took from the library)
image

THIS BOOK!!! I went to the library pretty much a day after watching the trailer and I died. The feels got me so bad…and Will Traynor. God, I loved this book so much. It was cute and heart-warming and just pure perfection. The trailer was amazing and I cannot wait to see the movie, you can coun’t on the fact that I’ll be at the cinema crying my eyes out. Of course I gave this one 5 stars out of 5 on Goodreads (it deserves more) .

* “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro (took from the library)
image

Now here is another book I was pleasantly surprised with. I hadn’t really heard a lot about this when I picked it up at the library and that was a good thing, because it made the whole readin experience more interesting. This book was delightfully creepy at times and I really want to watch the movie. Who wants to join me? Gave it 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

* “Ready Player One” by Ernest Cline (personal copy)
image

Boom! Another fantastic book. This month sure was good. I wrote a review for this, you can go read it to know all of my thoughts, so I am going to keep it short. I heard they are going to make this into a movie. If that’s true then I am a little scared, but we’ll see what happens. Gave this a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

* “Hamlet” by William Shakespeare (took from the library)
image

And again another good book. Shakespeare is awesome. I really want to start reading all of his other plays and see how good they are. We had to read this for school and I am really happy that we did. Cannot wait to ace the test :’) Gave this one, surprise surprise, 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

* “Girl Online: On Tour” by Zoe Sugg (personal copy)
image

This book was not as good as I was hoping it would be or thinking it could be. But still I am very proud of Zoe for writing two books, because let’s be honest I could never do that. I wrote a review for this as well and you can go read it if you want. Gave it a 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Ebooks:

* “Ugly Love” by Colleen Hoover
image

This was great! I really like Colleen’s books (I’ve only read two) . I did like “Hopeless” better though, it was just more up mu alley, but this one was also really good. I recommended it to my friend, who liked it so much she has read it like what, three times already. Four? Colleen’s writing is really good and you just get sucked into her books and you can’t put them down until you are finished. This one got 5 out of 5 stars from me.

UPDATE: the said friend read this post and told me she has read it FIVE times. Damn!

* “The Duality Principle” by Rebecca Grace Allen
image

This book was not as good as some people on Goodreads claimed. I did read it rather fast, but I can’t say I really enjoyed it. Both the main characters seemed a little dry and unimpressive. The book did have a few good moments, but still I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone. Gave it a 2 out of 5 stars.

And now it is time to see which book I loved the most and the one I hated. Lot of good books this month so this is going to be tough, but there was only one book I really didn’t like, so that one will be easy.

After a little bit of sitting in front of the computer and thinking, I have decided that my favourite book of the month is: “Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro . It is the one book that I think impressed me the most, especially since I haven’t read many books like this. I am really excited to pick up other books by him and fly through them as well.

And now my least favourite book of the month, which is, shocker: “The Duality Principle” . There were a lot of things that could’ve been better about this book. I read it and that’s okay, but I’ll probably forget this book in a little while. Unimpressed.

Leave a Reply

