Book review: “Kaleidoscope Hearts”

image

Book title: “Kaleidoscope Hearts”

Author: Claire Contreras

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 300

Format: ebook

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 4☆

Blurb:
He was my older brother’s best friend.
He was never supposed to be mine.
I thought we would get it out of our system and move on.

One of us did.
One of us left.

Now he’s back, looking at me like he wants to devour me. And all those feelings I’d turned into anger are brewing into something else, something that terrifies me.
He broke my heart last time.
This time he’ll obliterate it.

Review:
Before I start this review off let me just say…PG-13, definitely PG-13!

Next thing I want to say is that I enjoyed this book, but it reminded me a lot of “Ugly Love” , like a lot.
I mean, a guy with a questionable past who the main character tries to push away at first. The difference here is that unlike Miles, Bean aka Oliver tried and wanted to get back together with Elle.

Elle is just getting over the sudden death of her fiancé Wyatt and moves in with her brother Vic, when she sees Oliver- the guy who broke hear heart- and is overwhelmed when he tries to make a move on her.
She resists at first, but then gives in and allows him to take her out on one date, which turns into many more.

She soon realises that Oliver might be just the thing she needs in her life and all the feelings from years ago come back to haunt her.

Oliver was a versatile main character, he was smart but also smooth with the ladies. He is a doctor and I just loved how well he got along with children who were his patients. He seemed really selfless and kind-hearted. I think the one thing that made him kind of not great,was the fact that he had listened to his father’s bad advice and that was the reason he had such a hard time committing.

Bean and Elle did have a good connection though and you could tell that the things they had been through had really brought them together.

Vic was another thing that reminded me of “Ugly Love” . Overprotective brother, who believes noone is good enough for her sister, but has a hard time settling down himself.

It was a book that was so much like the few adult contemporary books I have read, but it still had something different to it.

The flashbacks from Oliver’s point of view were great. It really showed how conflicted he used to be and what went through his head at the same time that Elle got engaged and pushed him away.

Books like this are not exactly my favourite, but I do enjoy reading them when they are well written and when I can see that the characters have personalities and of course a great connection.

It was a nice weekend read and I feel like I got out of my slump so that is another added bonus.

Claire Contreras did a really good job and I cannot wait to read the other two books in the Hearts trilogy of singlestanding novels. Can’t wait to see what happens to Mia, Jensen and Vic.

 

Check the book out on Goodreads.

Leave a Reply

