Book review: “Lumberjanes”

Book title: “Lumberjanes, Vol. 1: Beware the Kitten Holy” and ”Lumberjanes, Vol. 2: Friendship to the Max”

Author: Noelle Stevenson, Grace Ellis and Brooke A. Allen (illustrator)

Publication year:  the volumes were published in 2015

Number of pages: Vol. 1 (#1- #4) has 128 pages and Vol.2 (#5- #8) has 111 pages

Format: ebook

Scribd app

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:

#1- #4

FRIENDSHIP TO THE MAX!

At Miss Qiunzilla Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s camp for hard-core lady-types, things are not what they seem. Three-eyed foxes. Secret caves. Anagrams. Luckily, Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley are five rad, butt-kicking best pals determined to have an awesome summer together… And they’re not gonna let a magical quest or an array of supernatural critters get in their way! The mystery keeps getting bigger, and it all begins here.

#5- #8

What a mystery!

Jo, April, Mal, Molly, and Ripley are not your average campers and Miss Qiunzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s Camp for Hardcore Lady-Types is not your average summer camp. Between the river monsters, magic, and the art of friendship bracelets, this summer is only just beginning. Join the Lumberjanes as they take on raptors and a sibling rivalry that only myths are made of.

This New York Times bestseller and Eisner Award-nominated series is written by awesome all-star Noelle Stevenson and brilliant newcomer Grace Ellis, and illustrated by the tremendously talented Brooke Allen.

Review:

My dad made me a Scribd account at the start of the month and so far I am loving the app and my free trial. There are so many great books to read and listen to and those include graphic novels and comics.

I had heard good things about ”Lumberjanes” and ”Nimona” , so when I saw them on Scribd I knew I had to read them.

I flew through the two volumes in a day, they were that good. The illustrations were just the way I like them, amazing but not too over the top. The plot was great. I would definitely like to go to a camp like Miss Quinzella Thiskwin Penniquiqul Thistle Crumpet’s. Whoever came up with that name deserves an award.

There were hard-core ladies there all right and lots of great adventures that don’t happen at your everyday normal camp. Three eyed foxes and raptors, Apollo and Artemis and Zeus retiring. As a lover of Greek mythology and anything to do with Gods… I thought these were THE BOMB DOT COM!

Just think about how funny it would actually be if you wanted to use the outhouse but ended up with a pack of raptors trying to rip you all apart. Or let’s say you end up at a boy’s camp and they turned out to be mind-controlled zombies. And even better, you see a group of yeti’s and hear them talking trash about you and every human on the planet.

I loved how cute and diverse the characters were. You have a character April who seems like a girly girl, but wait until she starts going and you’ll be wowed (I mean, she broke an arm off a statue and carried a log on her shoulder). Jo was a natural leader and the person who kept everyone grounded with her knowledge and love for logic, she was kind of like the glue that held everything together and when she turned into stone, the others were willing to die with her. I like how the story also had sexual diversity. Mal and Molly were really cute and if you keep reading the series you’ll see that there are a few books that focus on them after they end up in another universe when a date takes a weird turn. Mal seemed like a rebel and a hard-core girl, but she was actually at times more scared and confused than the others. Molly was athletic and a wiz with a bow and arrow.

Ripley was my favourite hands down. She was funny and hyperactive and such a great addition to the group. I felt like I could relate to her a lot and also her excitedness at everything and anything she saw made me smile like a freak. I really enjoyed how everyone got annoyed with her at times, but supported her nonetheless. It made me laugh so hard when the camp was under attack by the raptors and the only thing Ripley could notice was how cool the dinosaurs were. +1 Ripley!

lj5-dinosaurs-yes.png

JUST LOOK AT THAT!!!

I know that giving  all of the books 5 stars might seem a little far fetched, but this is my first proper graphic novel/ comic series I have read and I was impressed. I am a sucker for anything cute and funny and this was definitely up my alley.

I am definitely going to read ”Nimona” one day and see if I like it as much as I did these.

Friendship to the max, everyone 🙂

 

Check out the volumes on Goodreads here and here.

 

Leave a Reply

