March Wrap up

March has come and gone and spring is here. That means my allergies are here as well, but I’ll survive as long as I have books….and medicine.

I fell into quite a few reading slumps this month, but I still read a really decent amount of books and most of them I loved a lot.

Again I will give an overview of all the things I read, then pick my favourite and least favourite books.

Let’s do this *draws black stripes on cheeks*

Paperbacks and harcovers:

1. “Americanah” by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

71mRvAXV8fL

I wrote a review on this book when I finished it. It was a really well written book about life as a black person in America and England and Nigeria…a love story and I really enjoyed it. The diversity and use of words was so refreshing and nice to read, plus it was the first book I have read about black people and I LOVED IT A LOT!!!!!! Definitely need to start reading more books like this. I gave this book 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

2. “Jutte Vaeslapsest” by F.R.Kreutzwald

1_1_28162083

A very short book of two stories and it was really fun to read this again after so many years. I remember reading this when I was younger and now it just made me really nostalgic in a way I can’t explain. I really love fairytales and Estonian fairytales are amazing. The illustrations in this book are to die for! Gave it a 4.5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

3. “Sõda ja Rahu” (the first part) by Lev Tolstoy

20160319_195650-1.jpg

I have been putting reading these books off for so long and now finally I have managed to read the first part. I am hoping soon I’ll move on to the next parts as well. This was a really good, descriptive story with a lot of good and versatile characters. I can feel the drama and tension that will come with the other parts and I cannot wait. Gave it a 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Ebooks:

1. “Kaleidoscope Hearts” by Claire Contreras

23545800

I also wrote a review for this. I am not exactly a fan, but I didn’t really hate it either. It’s hard to explain, but there were things that I liked and things I didn’t like at all. But liek always I focused on all the postitive things in my review and was very generous with the stars, I gave it 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

2. “Lumberjanes Vol.1” and “Lumberjanes Vol.2”

These were really fun to read and easy as well. I read both of the volumes in ode day inbetween lessons and it was such a nice change to the school day. I wrote a review for both of these volumes 🙂 Gave them 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, really cute and epic read.

3. “My Heart and Other Black Holes” by Jasmine Warga

18336965

I also wrote a review for this. It was a good book, dark and twisted while being really sweet. I liked it, but there was still something missing from the wow factor. The characters were great and I liked how it was all written, but it didn’t stick with me. Gave this book 4 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

4. “Kill the Boy Band” by Goldy Moldavsky

41dR7dvHLUL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This book was the epitome of awesome!!! It had everything I love in books mixed into this one super funny, a little creepy and sadistic book about murder and friends and just…..aghhh, being a fangirl. Been there done that right 😉 Gave this, of course, 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads. I also wrote a review.

5. “New World: Rising” by Jennifer Wilson

27268998

Wrote a review for this one as well and my my, check this book out everyone. It was a really good and fast paced dystopian novel and I am so happy about the fact that I read this. Keep an eye on my blog and Instagram (also check out OfTomes’ Instagram feed and Jennifer’s as well) , because some interesting stuff is gonna go down. Gave ”New World: Rising” 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

 

Now the time has come to make two decisions, which is really hard, because I liked all the books I read.

My favourite book of the month was: ”Kill the Boy Band” , because it was such a pleasant and funny surprise and it pulled me right out of my reading slump. Definitely recommend this book to everyone.

And now the tough decision…my least favourite book of the month was: ”Kaleidoscope Hearts” . I liked it, but compared to all the other books, it just seemed a lot like all the other books I have read that are like this…but to be honest all of them are like that, I am just too generous with the stars and the positivity.

That is it for my March Wrap Up, I only managed to read one book that was in my TBR pile, I suck at those :’)

Hope you read a lot of good books and will read even better ones in April!

*excuse the typos if there are any, it is almost half past ten in the evening and I am so overtired I will soon die

2 comments

  1. The Girl in Boots · April 1, 2016

    I really, really want to read Kill The Boy Band. It sounds crazy!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

