Book review: “I’ll Give You the Sun”

20160403_013732.jpg

Book title: “I’ll Give You the Sun”

Author: Jandy Nelson

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 429

Format: paperback

Friend’s copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:
Jude and her twin brother, Noah, are incredibly close. At thirteen, isolated Noah draws constantly and is falling in love with the charismatic boy next door, while daredevil Jude cliff-dives and wears red-red lipstick and does the talking for both of them. But three years later, Jude and Noah are barely speaking. Something has happened to wreck the twins in different and dramatic ways . . . until Jude meets a cocky, broken, beautiful boy, as well as someone else—an even more unpredictable new force in her life. The early years are Noah’s story to tell. The later years are Jude’s. What the twins don’t realize is that they each have only half the story, and if they could just find their way back to one another, they’d have a chance to remake their world.

Review:
I am in love with this book. Not only did I love it, but it made me rethink all the things I have ever thought and said about contemporary books. This one is too good to put into words.

It was great that there were funny parts, where I could either laugh out loud or grin like a maniac, because the rest of it was pretty sad. I mean one tragedy on top of another. I got a little teary-eyed at the end when all the secrets of the past and the general madness of it all caught up to me.

The story felt so real as did the characters. The POVs were great, the idea that you saw the past through Noah’s eyes and the present through Jude’s was brilliant. At so many times I felt really angry with the twins and their decisions and actions, because I couldn’t get a grasp on that kind of back stabbing.

What really wowed me was how all the characters and all the things done and said fit together. Everything and everyone was connected in some way and it was really captivating.

Noah and Jude loved each other…perhaps too much. They had stopped talking the way they used to and kept to themselves.
When Noah used to be the weird introverted person and Jude the super social hot surfer, then in the future they had changed places.

It hurt to see how much they ignored each other only so they could stop the ghosts from the past and the secrets from overtaking them. They tried, they really did I think, but it was too much. They had already kept so much bottled up inside and now it was too hard to let go.

“This is what I want: I want to grab my brother’s hand and run back through time, losing years like coats falling from our shoulders.”

There was a touch of supernatural to the story and I really liked it. Grandma Sweetwine was a great addition to everything. The idea of the bible and the things in it seemed so funny to me. And then the notion of Jude’s mum actually breaking her sculptures, because she was angry…what a great detail, like seriously.

I really liked Guillermo, even after what I found out about him. He was such a beautiful character who was battling his own demons and at the same time trying to help Jude with hers. Their connection was great, just like G’s and Oscar’s.

Oscar was the way too hot british guy who gave Jude oranges. Oh god the oranges *melts into a puddle of giggles and feels*
He was a bad boy turned into a guy only 98% full of it. It was cool how Oscar seemed to be just as crazy as Jude, they were perfect together. There was also the fact that Oscar did seem like a jerk at times, but hey! he was confused.
Still their love story was magical and too cute to even put into words.

“I gave up practically the whole world for you,” I tell him, walking through the front door of my own love story. “The sun, stars, ocean, trees, everything, I gave it all up for you.”

In the past Noah and Brian were obviously meant for each other, but anger and jealousy and Brian’s future ruined it. I felt so sad after everything that happened. I was so happy a few moments before seeing how happy they were and then they just go ahead and ruin it all. Like why???!!!

*sighs*

The writing was so well done. It seemed so free and…unplanned at times, does that make sense? I think that was one of the things that charmed me the most.

The fact that it took Jandy over three years to write this is impressive. You can see how much thought and love she put into all of this. The characters were real to her and they were real to me.

This book was a real mess, a beautiful mess. I honestly don’t know how anyone can live without having read it.

“Quick, make a wish.
Take a (second or third or fourth) chance.
Remake the world.”

Check the book out on Goodreads right here.

Leave a Reply

