Book review: “I Know This of Myself”

image

Book title: “I Know This of Myself”

Author: Lina Holloway

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 320

Format: ebook

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:
A story of love, loss, and forgiveness.

Nia’s entire world has fallen apart. She is stuck in a cycle of depression she cannot pull herself from. Her sister, Noie, and her college friends are determined to help pull her from the darkness.

Will she find a way to truly live again and the strength imagine a new future for herself?

Review:

I received the kindle version from the author and this is my honest review!

At first I really struggled with the review, because I had a really hard time putting all of my feelings into this one post. Then I talked to my friend and this was her suggestion:
“It destroyed me.”
“Death.”
“I”
“No”
“Tears”
That is pretty much what I felt reading this. I kept my Hammie (best nickname ever) updated and I hyped her up…that is the power of this book.

Lina has managed to create a beautiful and heart-wrenching story that makes you feel everything the characters feel and the tears are hard to stop once they come, because trust me they will come.

The plot moved along really well and I loved how the chapters changed from the present to the past. The epilogue was perfection just like everything.

It was really hard to actually understand at times why Nia was acting the way she was…impossible really. What made it so hard was the fact that the author kept you on the edge of your seat with the tension and the hints at what happened to Ian. When the chapter finally came where I saw what happened, oh my Clark Gable (it stuck around, thanks Jandy Nelson) , it was horrible. I couldn’t even begin to imagine what Nia went through. I teared up a lot. Cried, really. For someone to go through something so tragic after having been so happy only hours before is just dreadful.

“After everything that happened, all I could see was how it affected my life. Now I know every one of our friends and family were affected. I fell apart so completely they couldn’t even assess their own damage.”

The book had a really beautiful and strong motive of family and friends, love and loss. I really enjoyed how you also get a little bit of back story to the other characters as well and aren’t left in the dark about who they are and what part they play in the story overall. The way all the characters came together to get over hard times and helo each other, mostly Nia, was really inspiring. It is really endearing when books have such great family relations.

Nia and Noie had a really great sister relationship and made me appreciate being an older sister.
Jett and Noie are marriage goals guys, because they gossip together :’) That’s right! So cute.

The part pets and favourite items/ memories played in this book and Nia’s recovery was really nice. It really showed that sometimes the little things do matter and can wind up changing a lot. Chloe and Russell seemed so cute and I really wished I could pet them. The willow tree always brought to mind Pocahontas and the wilderness and brought a certain calm over me.

I was on team Sam the whole time reading the book, I liked Tanner, but there was something about him that seemed too sudden and fake. Like if something happened I wouldn’t be against it, but I don’t think it would be a great match. Ian was a really great guy as well, he had a lot of demons to fight and a lot of pressure on him, but he knew how to make Nia happy and truly loved her.

There was a little bit of humour and sass in the book as well, so that made the reading experience even better.

It was the second book, but first book since I started blogging that I received for review and I cannot put into words how happy and thankful I am.

I really loved this book and I cannot wait to see if the author has anything else up her sleeve!

“I thought my life was perfect. I mean really perfect. The stuff books and fairy tales are written about. To find out that was all a lie did something to me I still don’t fully understand.”

Check the book out on Goodreads right here.

2 comments

  1. escapingreality5274 · April 6, 2016

    Yeah, going to buy this ASAP. This sounds amazing. Awesome review.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

