“New World: Ashes” Book tour

unnamed

So I have some amazing news. If you don’t follow me on Instagram or you haven’t read a few of my latest posts, then you probably don’t know that I am a part of the Book tour for “New World: Ashes” by Jennifer Wilson. The book is a second in a trilogy and the sequel to “New World: Rising” , a book I read a little while ago and also wrote a review for. It was so good! The plot moved along really fast and the characters were amazing. The storyline was really great and painted a really nice picture of a run down and dangerous dystopian world.

Hence my liking the first book and NEEDING to read the second, I was super happy and excited when Jennifer sent me a message and congratulated me on being part of the tour…like how did I already get here?

It was a little bit of a hush hush at first with a few details, which is pretty logical, but I was so giddy with it all and couldn’t wait until the time came for me to write my post.The series was published again now by Oftomes publishing , with new covers and everything. The covers are to die for! Just look at them.

27268998unnamed

Now that my fangirling is over (for a moment at least) it is time to talk a little more about the book itself.

If you are interested in getting the first book or reading about it then I will give you the links to Goodreads and Amazon , where the book is available for Kindle or paperback purchase. For those of you, who don’t want to click the links I will just put the blurb of the first book right here:

Since witnessing her parents’ murders at the age of eleven, Phoenix’s only purpose in life has been to uphold her mother’s dying words- to be strong and survive. But surviving outside of The Walls- outside of The Sanctuary- is more like a drawn-out death sentence. A cruel and ruthless city, Tartarus is run by the Tribes whose motto is simple, “Join or die.”

Refusing to join and determined to live, Phoenix fights to survive in this savage world. But who can she trust, when no one can be trusted? Not even herself.

If that doesn’t sound good, I don’t know what does.

”New World: Ashes” is available on Amazon now for preorder as the book is coming out on….June 7th, whoohoo!

Things left off at quite the interesting and nerve recking place and the teaser does just the right thing to get one in the mood of needing to read the book.

Ashes back cover teaser:

After Phoenix, a 17-year-old orphan rogue, sacrifices herself for her loved ones, her world again takes an unexpected turn. She may have forgotten her past, but it hasn’t forgotten her. A war is coming and her role in it will be pivotal.

That is… if she survives.

“The much-anticipated sequel to New World: Rising.”

Much-anticipated is right guys! So right. If you want you can add the book to your TBR list on Goodreads…I know I will.

I love that I get to be a part of this and tell you guys about an amazing book series that you should most definitely read, just give it a try.

Another really interesting thing about all this is that I got to send Jennifer Wilson a small Q&A and she answered!!! She gave really great answers to my questions and seemed to really like them. I will post them here now for you all to read and hopefully get some fun information out of it.

The Q&A with author Jennifer Wilson

1. Where did you get inspiration for a story like this?

I have always had a bit of an overactive imagination. My mind tends to wander and being a very visual person, I generally get these flashes of scenes­—a girl on a rooftop, an action-packed fight sequence or an impassioned kiss.  From there, my mind melds around these moments and a basic plot begins to develop. As the plot matures, so do my characters.

New World: Rising was born out of an epiphany moment for Phoenix. I could see this girl racing on rooftops, hiding in the shadows, being kind of a badass. The opening scene in the first book is the moment Phoenix was born in my mind, a dark shadowed figure standing on the ledge of a building as her hair whipped around her face in the wind, the city below her in ruin. The world just spiraled out from there, shaping around her.  I wanted to write about a girl who could take care of herself, who was just as tough as the boys and preferred to rescue herself rather than be recused. But of course she is not without her flaws. It was important to me that she—and all of the other characters—were still human, relatable and made mistakes.

2. What books/which authors would you say have influenced you the most?

I am sure this is cliché, but the Harry Potter series definitely helped inspire me to write. Not because of the fame or money, but this was the first series I fell in love with and because of how many lives J.K. Rowling touched with her books. To reach that many people and inspire them to dream and read… that is a true gift. So obviously, J.K. Rowling’s books are at the top of that list, but there are many other authors I look up to: J.R.R. Tolkien, Rick Yancey, Dan Brown, Suzanne Collins, Cassandra Clare and Diana Gabaldon, to name a few. Alexandra Bracken and Marie Lu are also recently added to my author crush list—I love that they too write about strong female leads, who are imperfect and vulnerable at times.


3. What would you say are the easiest and hardest things about writing?

The easiest part for me is the creativity and freedom of writing. When you are creating a world, there is no right or wrong there is only what you can dream up. The possibilities are endless. The hardest part can be the criticism. When writing a book, authors pour their heart and soul into it. So a bad review always cuts deeply, not matter how hard you try not to let it. Fortunately, it’s the fans who love your books that keep you writing and inspired.

4. If you had to be anyone else but an author, who would you be and why?

If I were to be someone other than an author, I would be a publisher. Aside from my passion for books, I also love raising other people up and helping them achieve their dreams. After having to tumble through the literary world by myself for the last few years learning the ropes, I would love to help others grow without having to struggle like I did at first.

5. Would you want your books to be made into movies or a TV show?

Both! Oh no wait, that’s cheating… Truthfully, for this series, I would have to say a movie. There are some amazing fight scenes and only a movie could do them true cinematic justice.

6. What makes your books stand out amongst all the others in the world?

Great question! While every author would love to say his/her books are completely unique, there are always going to be similarities between book of the same genre. What makes each book unique is the storyline, the tone and the characters. My books are one of the few dystopians where you get to see life on both sides—Utopia and Dystopia—then witness them collide. They also have a lot of grey area. In many books it is easy to see who the villains are—there are the good guys and the bad guys—but in the New World series not every bad guy is evil and not every hero is good.

7. When did you first realize you loved writing?

When I started writing my first book around the age of 23. I was late to the game but for what I lost in time, I am making up for in passion.

8. If you could be any character (even one of your own) who would you be and why?

Ooooo, that’s a tough one! I would have to say… Clary Fray from The Mortal Instruments series. I love how artistic, strong, passionate and defiant she is. She was definitely a character I could relate to and let’s be honest here, she also gets to make-out with Jace. Swoon… A very, very close second though would be Hermione Granger.

9. Pick a song that represents your books.

I actually have soundtracks for each book (you can find them on my website), but if I had to pick one song, it would be Sia’s Alive.

10. What do readers have to look forward to in the future?

Well New World Ashes that will be out this summer obviously and then the final book in the New World series, Inferno, will be released in winter 2017. After that it all depends on which story wiggles out of my brain the fastest. I have a whole other series that is part way completed and about three more simmering on the back burner. So much to write and so little time! So for now, maybe another ten books. (Oh my, I have some writing to do!)

I seriously hope you learned a little bit more about this series and my fangirling helped to hype you all up for the release of the book. I cannot wait to see what will happen with the third one like OMG.

Sorry if this seemed a little too long for you, but it is worth reading 🙂

Congatulations to Jennifer again for doing something so amazing and impressing us all.

Find Jennifer Wilson and everything I forgot to mention right here:

http://www.jenniferkaywilson.com/

http://www.thenewworldseries.com/

2 comments

  1. The Girl in Boots · April 9, 2016

    The covers are so beautiful!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

