Top 5 Wednesday

So April is in full swing right now and there are only six weeks! until summer vacation starts. I am super excited about it and I cannot wait until I can lay outside all day and read. I have managed to read a few good books already in April and managed to start watching a few good TV series as well: The Royals and The Musketeers ❤ So yeah, life is pretty good right now.

April is full of great topics for T5W and today is no exception,today’s topic is books with ”hard” topics (ie. mental health, sexual assault, illness, etc. ) . As we all know, most of the books that have ”hard” topics are heartwrenching.

gipdehy

I have read a lot of books that fit into these categories, so without further ado, I will bring out the best (and no, ”The Fault in Our Stars” is not on the list) .

1. ”Hopeless” by Colleen Hoover

cvr9781476743554_9781476743554_hr.jpg

This book is my favourite by Colleen, it was beautiful and heartbreaking. It kind of fits into all the categories, I feel like all of the things are entwined into the story (some more than others though) . I have recommended this book to a lot of people already and I’ll keep on doing that until the end of my days.

2. ”All the Bright Places” by Jennifer Niven

18460392

This was one of the very first contemporaries like this that broke me down completely. I am so happy I read this book in the morning while everyone was sleeping, because the ugly crying was…over the top ugly. Like believe me, it was horrendous.

3. ”I Know This of Myself” by Lina Holloway

27746804.jpg

I received this book from the author herself and wrote a review last week. It was such a good book. It kept me on the edge of my seat…or well, bed and it was so intriguing. This book deserves more recognition.

4. ”Wonder” by R.J.Palacio

Wonder-by-R_-J_-Palacio

This is a beautiful book, through and through. It was so well written and so emotional that the tears were just inevitable. I loved the characters and the way things moved along. I felt connected to everyone and everything on a deeper level and that is one of the things that is truly amazing about this novel. Unbelievably good and memorable!

5. ”It’s Kind of a Funny Story” by Ned Vizzini

514hIkoe-JL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

This is one of those mental health books that made me laugh. I don’t know, maybe I’m a sadist (no surprise there, I actually am one) , but there were some really funny parts in the book. It made me feel sad and compassionate towards the characters, but mostly it was sassy and sarcastic and right up my alley. I think this is a must read as well.

Those were the books for this week’s T5W. Let me guys know if you agree with any of them and feel free to share the links to your post as well 🙂

Leave a Reply

