Book review: “Eternal Darkness”

28494256

Book title: “Eternal Darkness”

Author: J.F.Johns

Publication year: 2016

Number of pages: 362

Format: ebook

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 4/4.5☆

Blurb:
The world is divided between humans and cyborgs.
Scarlet Lock is neither.
She is a soldier created to kill on command. But her memory has been erased and when she awakens in a government facility she soon discovers that this new world is a dangerous place, full of government secrets and cruel experiments performed in the name of progress.
With the help of a group of cyborgs, Scarlet will fight to uncover the truth and transform the future of the new world she now lives in.
Eternal Darkness is full of suspense, action and romance and will make readers question what it means to be human.

Review:

I received the kindle version from the author and this is my honest review!

This book was really nice. It was intriguing and full of all the elements that I usually like in books that I read. I am super thankful that the author agreed to send me a copy for review and I hope I manage to put all my thoughts into words now. I am also really nervous, because I promised myself I’ll be more tougher with stars and reviews from now on :’)

First I am going to start with all the things that seemed similar with other books and kind of ruined the wow! effect. The world in the book was separated into separate Capitals and each capital had one thing they specifically did…sound familiar? Yes, it kind of reminded me of ”The Hunger Games” . I also felt like there were a few things/actions that the book could’ve been even better without. But these are the smaller details that just bothered me at some point, but still made sense in the story…if that makes sense.

With that said, let’s move on to the important stuff. ERIC THORN EVERYONE!!!!! Like, the best character in the book…after Madeleine of course.

Madeleine was amazing, she was sassy and vulnerable in all the right ways and she made the book so much more funnier. She was a lover of chocolate and naps and those are the most important things in the world, let’s be honest here. She did seem kind of nasty at times, so I would love to read more about her past and see how she got to be like that. She should’ve talked more and maybe developed something with Sam…

Eric was perfect. At first he seemed like he will be a total jerk, which I wouldn’t have minded because I loved snarky Eric, but he was a total softie. Like a huge huggable teddybear. He made himself seem like such a bigshot and everything, when in reality he was sad and vulnerable. I loved the connection between him and Scarlet. Like seriously, Andrew go away. Eric was really funny and I liked his friendship with Sam, it was really nice.

Sam was a really nice father figure for everyone. He was sensible, but just like the others he had demons to fight.

The relationships between all the characters were really refreshing, because they resembled real life family relationships and made the book so much more real and relatable…if not considering the fact that they were nearly all cyborgs.

”Strength was not how fiercely one punched, but instead, how one would summon the courage to take a blow for someone else.”

Scarlet was an okay leading character. I liked her, but I felt like there could’ve been so much more development there. She had this mysterious air to her and her past that you gradually got to know better and then you understood most of the things, while still left in the dark about a few details.

”At least one day your body will turn to ashes, even if it may take a long time.[…]I am doomed to walk among the ashes forever. And I wasn’t even given a choice!”

Now the plot. The whole cyborg and human war concept is great, I liked it. Especially because the human everyday life was actually not that different from our lives today. School and dates, family dinners- the usual stiff. There were of course things that had changed with time and the different governments and projects.

One thing I thought was kind of sad was the fact that the book was not as action packed as I had hoped. Like, there was so much promise there. There could’ve been rebellions and battles. So at times it was kind of slow, but still I have to say I am very excited for the next book, because that cliffhanger. That cliffhanger!

It is definitely worth the read, because it is different from a lot of dystopian books that I have read, but still it wasn’t a  boombandwhizzwhazz book. But read it guys. Read it.

”Some people are good at what they do but that doesn’t mean that what they do is good.”

Check the book out on Goodreads right here.

Leave a Reply

