Book review: “Anointed”

image

Book title: “Anointed”

Author: Helena Christos

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 344

Format: paperback

Personal copy, received for review

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 3/3.5 ☆

Blurb:
For the anointed, death is not a threat. It’s a promise.

In the complexly ethereal and dangerous place that is Israel, boys and girls are afflicted by poverty, power and politics. Life is difficult for many and there are no easy answers. It is within such struggle that hope emerges.

When thirteen-year-old Zanna migrates to the Middle East, she sees it not for its exotic beauty, religious diversity and archaeological splendour, but as a formidable life sentence. And she couldn’t be more correct. She too has become one of the anointed; a gifting that could cost her that which she treasures most. Life.

Review:
I received the book from the author and this is my honest review!

Going into this book I was not very sure what it was about. I just knew what it said on the back and on Goodreads.

This book kind of ended up feeling like a fantasy, but also magical realism…I was very confused about into which genre this book falls.

In the end I have to say that my 3/3.5 star rating is based on two things: my impression of the book and the way the book was.

It was a pleasant read, I am not saying there was anything wrong with the book. It was good and I liked it,but it just lacked a certain awesomesauce bang. Do you know what I mean?
It definitely wasn’t a slow read, school is just really hard to handle and then reading and reviewing and everything kind of falls to the sidelines a little.

I felt the story itself, the way it was written, could’ve been a little better and more detailed. I also felt that in a few places the sentences had the chance of being better, had they been put together differently.

The characters were great, I liked the diversity. But then again there was so much potential for growth and change. I kept desperately waiting for something big to happen…personality wise.

The idea behind the guardian angels and patron saints was really cool. Especially the fact that Zanna’s were Sariel and Helena, both who played really important parts in everything.
The way the spiritual and religious world was brought into the story was really good, as was the historical side of everything. I feel like I learned quite a few things reading this book.

There were a few parts that confused me because of how the POV kept changing,but it gave a nice effect to everything.

Overall I am really happy with the book and thanful to the author for sending me a free copy. This was my first physical copy of a book for review and here’s to many more to come 🙂

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

