Book review: ”The Pact”

20160613_191448.jpg

Book title: “The Pact”

Author: Jodi Picoult

Publication year: 2005

Number of pages: 480

Format: paperback

Personal copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 4☆

Blurb:

For eighteen years the Hartes and the Golds have lived next door to each other, sharing everything from Chinese food to chicken pox to carpool duty – they’ve grown so close it seems they have always been a part of each other’s lives. Parents and children alike have been best friends, so it’s no surprise that in high school Chris and Emily’s friendship blossoms into something more. After all, they’ve been soul mates since they were born.
So when midnight calls from the hospital come in, no one is prepared: Emily is dead at seventeen from a gunshot wound to the head, inflicted by Chris as part of an apparent suicide pact. He tells police the next bullet was meant for himself. A local detective has her doubts. And the Hartes and Golds must face every parent’s worst nightmare and question: do we ever really know our children at all?

Review:

It took me forever to get into this book because the beginning, the first 200 pages haha, were so slow. Like nothing happened and I found myself wondering: ”Wow, is the whole book going to be like this?” and then…things gor interesting. I couldn’t put it down. So the whole reading process looked like this: a whole week to read the first 200 pages and the rest 280 in two sittings.

I would’ve given this book 5 out of 5 stars for sure had it been more fast paced, but I guess a really big reason for why I had a hard time getting into this novel is because of the fact that I don’t usually find myself reading books like this.

I have to say I was thouroughly surprised though. I really felt like the court process at the end was my favourite out of the whole book. It was well written and really really intense, just the way I imagine it can sometimes end up being.

One thing that I also liked was how the chapters were from the present and the past, so when you read about what was going on in the investigation and what Chris felt and everyone involved you also saw what happened in the past and understood all the things that led up to what happened to Emily.

“There is no one truth. There’s only what happened, based on how you perceive it.”   

I only had three characters in this book that I liked, because every other character for some reason just grinded my nerves so bad. The characters I liked were Jordan and his son and Selena. By the way Selena and Jordan…major shipping going on in my mind while reading their POVs.

I disliked Melanie a lot. Oh, who am I kidding I wanted to BURN HER. She was so horrible and just dfdhglw , like all I wanted to do was hit her with a truck or something. I know it sounds horrible, but the way she acted was in no way justified. She reasoned her behaviour by saying that she was too good of a mother to not have seen her daughter’s depression…like come on. And then she tampered with what could’ve been really important evidence in the case.

There were a lot of moments in this book that made me go all crazy in either an angry or shocked way. One of the things that made me really sad was the fact that noone actually found out the reason for why Em wanted to kill herself. What made that situation worse was the fact that I knew if the people working on the case knew then everything would be solved much faster. I don’t want to say much more on this because the whole reason behind Emily’s depression and the tension between her and Chris over certain subjects was a real turn of events for me and it actually got me more invested in the story.

“I, um, I have this problem. I broke up with my boyfriend, you see. And I’m pretty upset about it, so I wanted to talk to my best friend. […] The thing is, they’re both you.”   

A really big part of chapters from the past that were from Em’s point of view told the reader about how she sometimes, a lot actually, thought of Chris as her brother because they had grown up so close they were practically family and it made the intimacy between the two of them so much harder for Em.

I felt sorry for Em, but I don’t think that reasoning her secrets and not telling Chris about what was getting her down by saying that it would make things harder was just stupid. And then Chris not telling anyone about Emily planning to kill herself was so frustrating. I get it, you love her but you should not say that telling someone about her problems would be worse than her dying, because then she’ll hate you. Grow some balls man!

“My whole life was about her, what if her whole life wasn’t all about me?”   

The book was such a rollercoaster and it was definitely a book that I liked more than I thought I would. This was my first Jodi Picoult book and I have to say I am interested in reading more of her novels. I have heard really good things about her work and also the movies that were based on some of the books.

Overall I think this book is one of the best out of the drama genre, of all the books I have read that fit into the category of course.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

