Book review: “Six of Crows”

image

Book title: “Six of Crows”

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 491

Format: paperback

Personal copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:

Ketterdam: a bustling hub of international trade where anything can be had for the right price—and no one knows that better than criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker. Kaz is offered a chance at a deadly heist that could make him rich beyond his wildest dreams. But he can’t pull it off alone…

A convict with a thirst for revenge.

A sharpshooter who can’t walk away from a wager.

A runaway with a privileged past.

A spy known as the Wraith.

A Heartrender using her magic to survive the slums.

A thief with a gift for unlikely escapes.

Kaz’s crew are the only ones who might stand between the world and destruction—if they don’t kill each other first.

Review:

Let’s again start this off by saying that it took me more than a week to read this because it is summer and I am a lazy blob.

And now to my thoughts on the book. I loved every single page and word. This book was such a masterfully written fantasy and I fell in love with Leigh Bardugo’s way with putting together a story.

“No mourners. No funerals. Among them, it passed for ‘good luck.”   

I am 100% sure that I have never read a book in YA that was this diverse in characters. It represented reading disabilities, PTSD, race and body image, sexual orientation. I loved how real all the characters seemed while still being able to do things that an average everyday person cannot.

The plot was really great and kept me on the edge of my seat throughout the novel.

I was really happy with the fact that my OTPs didn’t fall for each other in  the first chapter and then already get married at the end of the book if you know what I mean. It was slow and a work in progress but that is how relationships should be. Although I don’t mind a cheesy true love story :’)

The six outcasts and the main characters were all lovable and so cute it hurt.
Kaz Brekker was the perfect personification of a completely messed up good guy. He is good and knows it, buy because of his past has tried to ignore it and has built up this illusion of a villain. But yes he is also bad and quite good in his ways.

“I’m a business man,” he’d told her. “No more, no less.”
“You’re a thief, Kaz.”
“Isn’t that what I just said?”   

Inej and Nina were beautiful in every way. They were cut-throat and still vulnerable and human. They were not afraid to fight or kill for their cause, plus they also had a great friendship.

Wylan was so awkward it was adorable and Jesper was just awesome. I would love to have them as friends. Also SHIP SHIP SHIP. I will go down with this one for sure. If “Crooked Kingdom” does not have any #Wysper action in it then I quit life. They were just too good.

Matthias was the kind of character who was stoic but such a teddy bear deep down. I was a little unsure of his motives, but in the end he proved himself and I like him, I like him a lot. Just like Nina 😉 I also want those two to end up together, because they have to.

“Oh, I see. I’m the wicked Grisha seductress. I have beguiled you with my Grisha wiles!”
She poked him in the chest.
“Stop that.”
“No. I’m beguiling you.”   

And then there is the Kaz and Inej duo. They complete each other and understand without a word from the other what is happening. I really enjoyed the chemistry they had, but Kaz is the way he is and I also feel like Inej deserves so much better. She keeps giving him chances to prove how he feels and Kaz just turns away and says nothing. But we’ll see what happens in the sequel.

“I will have you without armor, Kaz Brekker. Or I will not have you at all.”   

I think it is very hard to put into words how much I feel for this book without going too into depth about it and spoiling it for those who haven’t read it.

It had a great almost cliffhanger ending and I can’t wait to get my hands on the second book already.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

2 comments

  1. Karalee · June 26

    Great review! The book seems really interesting!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

