Book review: “Our Demons, Best Friends”

 

Book title: “Our Demons, Best Friends”

Author: Diana T.Scott

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 320

Format: ebook

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 4,5☆

Blurb:

Ava and Sebastian are two medical residents who in a perfect world, would really like each other. But both of them are closely watched by their demons. Their baggage is not light – Ava has hers carefully folded in vacuum bags to occupy as little room as possible; Sebastian wears his like a lead armor that makes him slouch sometimes. They like each other, but how are their demons going to get along?

Review:

First off I’d like to say sorry for not reading this book as soon as I got it. Diana was so nice and sent me the ebook version for review and like the loser I am I postponed it. But I have read it now and I have to say how grateful I am that I read this, because it managed to probably, quite possibly pull me out of the stand still I was in.

Now to my thoughts on the book.

It was a really nice and fast paced contemporary that I feel would appeal to a very wide audience in the book community. The characters were all very likeable (with their flaws of course) and the plot was enjoyable. And that is why I thought I should give it a 4,5 rather than a 5 star rating on Goodreads. It was great, but not blow-your-socks-off-sensational.

One thing that I am really tired of seeing in books is when the female and male in the book get into a fight and decide to break things off because they cannot be brave enough to tell the person they are OBVIOUSLY in love with why they have a hard time committing and that results in the said loved person not knowing why he/she is being pushed away.Like gosh, you are not the only one who feels pain..STOP BEING A DRAMA QUEEN!  In this book however Ava and Sebastian knew perfectly well what the other one had gone through and Ava knew why Sebastian wasn’t willing to admit to his feelings for her.

It was kind of a slow burning romance and I liked that aspect. They were friends first and slowly it all shifted with it’s pros and cons of course.

Ava was a great female protagonist. She was kind of cliche at times, but other than that I enjoyed her POV and didn’t feel too overwhelmed by her ”presence” in the novel. She was also really funny and most of the laugh out loud moments had her involved.

“He’s just… mean. Or gay.
No, he’s not gay. I asked…
Mean it is, then.”   

Sebastian was swoony as hell. He had really really REALLY bad luck in his past when it came to people he cared about and I did see why he was the dark and gloomy doctor with a beard, a Greek god with tattoos to quote the book 😉 There was this one part in the book where I felt like slapping the carrots out of him and that was when a father scared about his daughter was yelling at Ava. The way Sebastian reacted and what he said was just too over the line idiotic and I just couldn’t handle the discust I felt in that moment. Other than that I really enjoyed Sebastian and the last two chapters from his POV were utter perfection. They made the book so much better.

“My demons love your demons like crazy”

Ava and Sebastian were a really great duo and I enjoyed the way the complimented each other. One of my favourite scenes was the one at Lana’s birthday party, when they had the air instrumnet session. I was picturing it in my head and it was too cute.

The majority of the book takes place in either the hospital the main characters work at or the apartment Ava and her roommates Emily, Miles and Paige live in. The setting of the book was really nice and it was so refreshing to see how nothing was dragged on to be long and unnecessary. All the important details were there and I felt like there was nothing that the story was lacking and nothing that was too much.

It was a great book and I really hope that I’ll get a chance to read the second book someday as well. As far as I understand it talks about Emily, Ava’s best friend and Collin who is Sebastian’s best friend.

I am happy to see that most of the positive thoughts on this book that I had seen rang true and wish you all have the chance to read this 🙂

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

