October Wrap Up

Another month has come and gone and another month of me trying to get over my slump has passed. I think I did quite well this month with my reading and I feel like I am getting back to my old book obsessed self.

Paperbacks and hardcovers:

1. ”Kui tuvid kadusid” by Sofi Oksanen

kui tuvid kadusid_kaas2.indd

You might know this book as ”When the Doves Disappeared”. This book confused me. It was just so weirdly written and pretty much every five seconds or so I would lose my train of thought. It took me like two weeks to read this book so it was definitely hard to get through. I gave it a 2,5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

2. ”Juudit” by A.H.Tammsaare

juudit

This play was amazing! I was really surprised because usually Tammsaare’s work is not something that really appeals to me, but I loved this. It was brilliantly written and I read it through twice…so I think you can see just how good it was. Loved discussing this in Literature and I seriously hope that all the other books we are going to read are this good. I gave it a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

3. ”Marina” by Carlos Ruiz Zafon

th

I love the way Zafon writes. It’s so beautiful and thrilling. ”Marina” definitely didn’t come anywhere near ”The Shadow of the Wind” but it was really interesting and I did enjoy reading it. I started writing a review but I have writer’s block now for some reason so it will be up a bit later. I gave this book a 4,5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

4. ”When We Were Animals” by Joshua Gaylord

332ed84600000578-0-when_we_were_animals_by_joshua_gaylord-a-25_1460665168018

This book was disturbing. Like, reading this made me feel so uncomfortable for some reason and I cannot say that it is a totally bad thing, but I then again feel like I cannot say that I loved this book. It was good and I do recommend people check this book out, especially if you are into coming-of-age stories. I gave this a 3,25 stars out of 5 on Goodreads.

So I think it is no surprise when I say that my favourite book of the month was: ”Juudit” by Tammsaare. It was just too good for words.

My least favourite book of the month sadly is: ”Kui tuvid kadusid” , I really thought I was going to like this. There are people that love this book, but her writing is just not for me.

Leave a Reply

