Book review: ”Furiously Happy”

Okay, so I have finally managed to write a review and post it!!!! This review is more like a rant about me and how I related to the book…kind of…but it still talks about how good the book is so read it and then read the book! IT IS A MUST!

CD0DA434-A090-4251-9195-59441581A16D.png

Book title: “Furiously Happy: A Funny Book About Horrible Things”

Author: Jenny Lawson

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 329

Format: paperback

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:

In LET’S PRETEND THIS NEVER HAPPENED, Jenny Lawson baffled readers with stories about growing up the daughter of a taxidermist. In her new book, FURIOUSLY HAPPY, Jenny explores her lifelong battle with mental illness. A hysterical, ridiculous book about crippling depression and anxiety? That sounds like a terrible idea. And terrible ideas are what Jenny does best.

Review:

I haven’t read a lot of memoirs…in fact I am positive I have read zero memoirs. And I am quite furiously happy (see what I did there?) to say that I was very pleased with this book.

I really like how already from the very first page I could tell that I was going to like the book and every single story in it. The way Jenny Lawson wrote the book was wonderfully honest and open-minded. It was hilarious in all the right ways and by that I mean all the wrong ways, because I am weird and my sense of humour has no boundaries.

I am also quite a morbid person with very morbid interests so quite a few things that made my friends cringe and go ”What the hell?!” made me smile and go ”Oh,yeah!”

“Like my grandmother always said, “Your opinions are valid and important. Unless it’s some stupid bullshit you’re being shitty about, in which case you can just go fuck yourself.”   

One thing that I love is that this book was helpful to me. I could relate to so many of the problems she struggled with and seeing, or rather reading about, the ways she handled everything were useful. I feel like this book was the one thing that was missing from my life.

I have been through quite the rollercoaster lately and felt confused, sad and angry way too often. This book helped me see there were things not worth holding onto and things worth living for more than anything.

“Don’t make the same mistakes that everyone else makes. Make wonderful mistakes. Make the kind of mistakes that make people so shocked that they have no other choice but to be a little impressed.”  

I also learned that my weirdness is the best thing ever and I love it. I have never been too judgmental about my personality, because I know I am weird and in fact I feel comfortable telling people that. But there are times when I get hurt and wonder if it really is too unbearable to be around me.

But I have a great group of friends just like Jenny and I am sure I can do anything as long as they stay by me.

Never have I laughed out loud so much while reading a book and I am quite sure the people on the train thought I was nuts. But does it matter? No.

One thing I recommend to everyone is: read the blog post from the book. The very first one she talks about from 2010. Read it. You don’t know it yet, but it will be the most inspiring blog post ever and you will fall in love with Jenny and her way of writing and then devour the whole book.

But that blog post is crucial. Everyone needs a dose of that positive and no BS attitude in their life, so get at it. Read the blog post, read the book and thank the Lord for giving us Jenny Lawson, the woman who loves taxidermy and dresses up as a koala. I love her!

“I AM GOING TO BE FURIOUSLY HAPPY, OUT OF SHEER SPITE.”   

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

