Book review: ”It Ends with Us”

9CFB0B09-7840-4F9D-8B98-B6D2605630D0.png

Book title: “It Ends with Us”

Author: Colleen Hoover

Publication year: 2016

Number of pages: 376

Format: paperback

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 3.75 or 4☆

Blurb:

SOMETIMES THE ONE WHO LOVES YOU IS THE ONE WHO HURTS YOU THE MOST

Lily hasn’t always had it easy, but that’s never stopped her from working hard for the life she wants. She’s come a long way from the small town in Maine where she grew up – she graduated from college, moved to Boston, and started her own business. So when she feels a spark with a gorgeous neurosurgeon named Ryle Kincaid, everything in Lily’s life suddenly seems almost too good to be true.

Ryle is assertive, stubborn, and maybe even a little arrogant. He’s also sensitive, brilliant, and has a total soft spot for Lily, but Ryle’s complete aversion to relationships is disturbing.

As questions about her new relationship overwhelm her, so do thoughts of Atlas Corrigan – her first love and a link to the past she left behind. He was her kindred spirit, her protector. When Atlas suddenly reappears, everything Lily has built with Ryle is threatened.

Review:

I really enjoy Colleen’s books and this one was no exception, but I cannot say that I was crazy about this book.

Because of all the great reviews and posts about this book I was ready for this book to blow my socks off and while I was impressed, I was not really wowed. I felt like maybe I wasn’t reading this book with enough passion, but we all know that is not the reason for this book feeling a bit regular (so to say) to me.

This doesn’t mean that I didn’t feel sad reading it or laugh at the funny parts,I am not saying that this was a bad book. In fact I think the amount of emotion Colleen manages to put into her books is astounding and after reading her note at the end I started appreciating the plot of this book a bit more.

I think it is always great when authors manage to take some events from their own life and put it down into words for everyone else to read and learn, and quite hopefully grow as a person and reader.

One of my problems with this book was Ryle. I knew from the beginning that it was too good to be true and I could actually feel the heartbreak coming from a mile away. After he hurt Lily I couldn’t stand him at all…just ask my friend. I sent her a thousand rants about how Ryle was a bastard and I hated him and that Lily should as well. I mean in a way she did. I wasn’t too angry though because I could see why she was having a hard time letting go and accepting some hard decisions regarding her and her marriage.

“I feel like everyone fakes who they really are, when deep down we’re all equal amounts of screwed up. Some of us are just better at hiding it than others.”   

I couldn’t overlook the fact that I felt no ”magic” reading this. I felt really giddy when I read ”Maybe Someday” , just to bring an example, and just couldn’t believe that such a sweet and powerful book existed. This book was a bit meh in my opinion. It was good but not what I expected of it.

But what this book had and I really loved, was the friendships. Between Allysa and Lily, between Lily and the friends of Atlas (it was a short scene but I loved it anyway). They were so pure and funny and heart-warming. I would love to have people like that in my life forever and ever. Allysa and Marshall were the epitome of the coolest married couple ever and their love story was hilarious.

The best thing about this book were the journal entries about Atlas, I mean most of them were sad but I loved them so much. Atlas was the greatest character and I just felt nothing but happiness for him.

“He pulls back to look down at me and when he sees my tears, he brings his hands up to my cheeks. “In the future… if by some miracle you ever find yourself in the position to fall in love again… fall in love with me.”

I did tear up a few times, laugh out loud and curse a little (just a smidge).

I don’t know how well this review turned out, but I did try to put down all my thoughts on it for you guys. Read this book if you like CoHo books 🙂 And if you haven’t read her books then read it as well… I mean my first recommendation would probably be ”Maybe Someday” or ”Hopeless” , but this book is a great start as well to a binge reading of sorts.

“It stops here. With me and you. It ends with us.”

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

