December Wrap Up

December was the month when the horrible, devastating book slump of mine was defeated! Boo ya. I read so many books and I felt so good getting back into my old reading mojo.

Nine books seems like a dream right now because these past six months!! or so I have been reading like two or three books a month…I could cry I am so happy.

Paperbacks and hardcovers:

1. ”Furiously Happy” by Jenny Lawson

furiously-happy-cover-flatiron-books

Absolutely hilarious and a fast read. This is a really nice book to read when you are bored, a nice cup of tea and a blanket to go with it. I gave this a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

2. ”It Ends with Us” by Colleen Hoover

it-ends-with-us

I enjoyed this book, because I think for me it is really hard not to like CoHo’s books. It wasn’t as good as I thought it would be though, but I ended up giving this book a 3.75/4 star rating on Goodreads.

3. ”Harala elulood” by Mats Traat

This was a really pleasant surprise. I actually got chills reading this. So powerful and yet a small book with few words. I absolutely loved this and I cannot be happier that my Literature teacher talked to us about this. I gave this one a 5 out of 5 stars rating on Goodreads.

4. ”Carmilla” by J.Sheridan Le Fanu

th.jpg

This book was given to me by a friend and I read it. It was ok, but it was not anything amazing. The story felt a little bland and so did the characters. It actually took me two tries to get into this book and finish it. I gave this a 2.75 stars on Goodreads.

5. ”Girl Online Going Solo” by Zoe Sugg

1467996299-f3ad9d8ee1bdcb88f22709786feefccf-600x492

I don’t really like this trilogy and this book just annoyed the hell out of me. I wrote a review too so you can go and read it if you want. I gave this a 2.75 stars out of 5 on Goodreads.

6. ”Am I Normal Yet?” by Holly Bourne

am-i-normal-yet

It was a good book, funny and had a really strong feminist outlook. I wrote a review in which I mostly talked about the problems that were brought to the fore in the novel. Gave it a 4.5 stars on Goodreads.

7. ”Illuminae” by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae-kaufman-kristoff

The greatest sci-fi novel out there, no joke. This was absolutely amazing. I stayed up until 4 o’clock reading it until I was finished. This was new and funny and just blew me away. Gave it a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Ebooks:

1. ”Melody’s Key” by Dallas Coryell

untitled.png

I didn’t enjoy this book as much as I thought I would. It has a lot of 5 star ratings on Goodreads but I was kind of let down by it. I didn’t enjoy reading this at all and the only reason I pushed myself through was to see if I could get through. I got this for review and my review is up on Goodreads, I’ll upload it here soon as well. Gave this a 2 stars out of 5 on Goodreads.

2. ”Royal” by Winter Renshaw

thlw14loxh

This was a meh book as well, I didn’t like it but then again I didn’t hate it as well. It was just an ok book to read. I gave it a 2.5 stars on Goodreads.

My least favourite book of the month is: ”Melody’s Key”, it was just not a good book. I’m sorry.

My favourite book of the month is: ”Illuminae” most definitely! I loved this book so so much. Everyone go read it!

 

 

Leave a Reply

