Best books of 2016

It is time to talk about what was probably the only good thing about 2016 and that is books. More specifically the books I read in 2016.

I am of course not going to talk about the  75 books that I read, so instead I am going to bring out the 10 favourites of mine.

This list was not that hard to put together at all. I have a journal in which I have written down all the books I have read and taken notes etc. I circled the titles of the books I loved the most and now picked out 10 which were the best out of all the good books. I considered all genres and thematics and I think the end result is really nice and diverse.

1. ”Fingersmith” by Sarah Waters

fingersmith-bookcover

I started 2016 with a bang. This book blew me away with the intricate plot and characters. It took me a little while to actually get through it, but I loved it a lot. Sarah’s books have really nice reviews on Goodreads and I would love to read more of her books.

This is a book that I have recommended to a lot of people I know. I borrowed it from a friend who, herself, hasn’t read this yet…she totally should.

2. ”Minu Barcelona. MΓ€e ja mere embuses” by Mirjam Johannes

9789949556472_jpg

This book was a really nice and pleasant surprise. I am not a really big fan of memoirs and travel books. I flew through this one though. It was really well paced and the stories told in this book about life in Barcelona and the people, their customs and beliefs were amazing. Barcelona is on top of my ”Must go there” list because most of the city was designed by my favourite architect. I need to go there and this book just added more fire to this passion of mine. Nothing like a good travel book to get you in the mood to discover the world.

3. ”The Shadow of the Wind” by Carloz Ruiz Zafon

shadow.jpg

It’s crazy how I read this book this year. Feels like it was eons ago. It is truly amazing how a book can become a favourite this fast. Like, you read it and know that it will forever be your favourite no matter what.

I have given praise to this book so many times and I will never get tired of it. This novel is truly a masterpiece and if I had to pick my most favourite book of 2016 it would be this. It instantly became my all-time favourite book. I need to reread it in 2017…maybe it will be the first book I read πŸ™‚

4. ”Never Let Me Go” by Kazuo Ishiguro

6334.jpg

This book is on this list because it was one of the books that surprised me the most. The plot and characters were really mysterious and the writing was amazing, really poetic. I watched the movie right after I read it and it was good but definitely lacking the passion in the book.

I was slightly creeped out by this novel to be honest, but that just added more to my liking it. I think Kazuo’s books are really something to keep an eye out for.

5. ”Hamlet” by William Shakespeare

hamlet.jpg

Again a book that feels like I read a thousand years ago. This was a life changing book. I fell instantly in love with Shakespeare and his way of writing. I don’t think I have ever enjoyed an assigned book this much before. I really loved analyzing it in class with the teacher and trying to understand what Shakespeare meant with his words.

It truly opened my eyes to Shakespeare, whose plays I had read snippets of and heard of from other people. I must read more of his plays in 2017, that is for certain.

6. ”Kill the Boy Band” by Goldy Moldavsky

41dR7dvHLUL__SY344_BO1,204,203,200_

As far as totally silly and hilarious books go…this is the best. I laughed out loud a lot while reading this book. It was delightfully dark and morbid, which means it was right up my alley. I didn’t expect too much going into this, but the more I got into it the more I saw the potential of this book being a favourite of many readers.

This book took me on an adventure with the twists and turns, the wonderful descriptions and jokes.

7. ”I’ll Give You the Sun” by Jandy Nelson

23573418__UY200_

I read a lot of contemporaries, because they are really enjoyable. This book just broke my heart and healed it at the same time. I didn’t think this book was going to be this amazing. I had read great reviews and heard great things from my friends, but I was just waiting for this to be another coming of age book. It was one of the most beautiful and heart-breaking books truth be told.

The plot was really great and seeing the story through the eyes of both main characters gave a nice view of everything going on. I cried and I laughed, I sighed out of pure satisfaction which was the writing.

8. ”Juudit” by A.H.Tammsaare

juudit

This play is probably my new favourite. It is also one of my favourite Estonian pieces now. It was amazingly written. The plot, the characters were just spot on and it got better and better with each scene. This was also a surprise because Tammsaare’s works have never really clicked with me this much. I am really happy I got to see this beautiful side of Estonian literature.

9. ”Furiously Happy” by Jenny Lawson

furiously-happy-cover-flatiron-books

Funny as hell, honest as hell and just perfect. I think this book gave me a new appreciation for memoirs. I always thought they were going to be boring and very slow, but this book proved me wrong.

Jenny is now my favourite person. She doesn’t know me, but that doesn’t matter. I feel like we have been friends ever since I was born. Like she is the cool aunt that spoils me and does crazy *pleep* with me just because we can. This book made me feel a certain way and I LOVE.IT.

10. ”Illuminae” by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

illuminae-kaufman-kristoff

Start the year with a bang, end it with a band. This book was flipping amazing!

The plot was absolutely wonderful, the characters cracked me up with the sass and jokes. The format of the book was beautiful, I loved every single page of this and I cannot wait to read the second book….when is the third one coming out? πŸ˜‰ I cannot believe how great this was…wow….just wow.

 

One thing that I didn’t manage to do was my TBR challenge, which was one of my earliest posts…Oh, well! I am not really good with TBRs and certain plans for reading, I like it spontaneous.

I cannot wait to see what 2017 brings in terms of reading and I will see you  with a new blog post next year…hahahahaha, bad joke :’)

giphybooks.gif

4 comments

  1. Diana · January 1

    I have only read Shadow of the Wind on your list and I absolutely loved it.Great list.I’ll look for the other titles that you mentioned especially Furiously Happy since it has quite a number of good mentions.

    Happy new year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • gertakrapivnitski · January 1

      Aww thank you for the comment. It makes me so happy πŸ™‚ Definitely check the books out! Happy new year to you too.

      Like

  2. lorrs33 · March 16

    I really enjoyed Never Let Me Go, even the film did the book justice.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

