Book review: “Hush, Hush”

20161231_141033.jpg

Book title: ”Hush, Hush” (Hush, Hush #1)

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Publication year: 2009

Number of pages: 391

Format: paperback

belongs to a friend

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 2.5☆

Blurb:

A SACRED OATH
A FALLEN ANGEL
A FORBIDDEN LOVE

Romance was not part of Nora Grey’s plan. She’s never been particularly attracted to the boys at her school, no matter how hard her best friend, Vee, pushes them at her. Not until Patch comes along. With his easy smile and eyes that seem to see inside her, Patch draws Nora to him against her better judgment.

But after a series of terrifying encounters, Nora’s not sure whom to trust. Patch seems to be everywhere she is and seems to know more about her than her closest friends. She can’t decide whether she should fall into his arms or run and hide. And when she tries to seek some answers, she finds herself near a truth that is way more unsettling than anything Patch makes her feel.

For she is right in the middle of an ancient battle between the immortal and those that have fallen – and, when it comes to choosing sides, the wrong choice will cost Nora her life.

Review:

Now this book has a lot of mixed reviews and honestly I can see why a lot of people would hate this book. One thing that I should say right away is that I hate the fact that a lot of hateful reviews started with the line ”This is like Twilight…” or ”This book was like a cheap copy of Twilight…” and what not. Not every book with a supernatural character and a human is Twilight. That seems so silly to me to hate on a book because of the thematic. It’s like saying that books shouldn’t have similar character bases.

This book was kind of 50/50 for me because while I wasn’t crazy about it, it was enjoyable. It was an easy read, didn’t feel like I had to think too much about anything while reading and I got through it relatively fast. The premise of the book did seem a little flat while reading because I felt like there could’ve been more about angels in this book and their world and things like that. The whole explanation came really late in the book and it made it seem like some kind of horror flick at first.

There were two things that I really hated about this book, the first being Vee. She is the stupidest character ever and honestly I didn’t really understand her presence in the book. She wasn’t one of the main characters and yet we saw more of her than Patch. She was annoying and honestly if my friends ever treated me the way Vee treated Nora I would say Adios!

“Before I forget, here’s your homework. Where do you want me to put it?”
She pointed at the trash can. “Right there would be fine.”   

The second thing is why do authors think everything is sexy and mysterious when people are pushed against walls? Patch and Nora spent most of the book pinned against various walls, then something happened yadda yadda and boom! against a wall again. I rolled my eyes so much whenever that came up. Stop with it please.

“All this time I’ve hated myself for it. I thought I’d given it up for nothing. But if I hadn’t fallen, I wouldn’t have met you.”   

Patch and Nora’s love story wasn’t very nice seeing as how they saw very little of each other, and most of the time Nora kept emphasizing the fact that Patch was a creep. I mean that is a bit off especially since she was  supposed to come across as the kind of character who wouldn’t fall for a guy like that and she allegedly knew better. Like hell you do Nora! The insta love in this book is ridiculous.

“I don’t go out with strangers,” I said.


“Good thing I do. I’ll pick you up at five.”   

There were a lot of ”bad guys” in this book and everyone wanted a piece of Nora, who was actually a bit bland. There were just mind games everywhere and I didn’t even now what to believe. Also the fact that Blythe (Nora’s mom) would leave her daughter alone for a really long time a)  after what happened to her father and b) when her daughter is sick…a little weird. I know she had the housekeeper but even she went away.

On a positive note it was a nice thrill to read this before bed. Don’t do that if you sleep next to a window….on the first floor. It was very entertaining to read this book and I actually want to see how this series goes on especially since my friend has told me a little about what happens.

I definitely wouldn’t go so far as to declare this the best YA paranormal book out there. This ain’t it, not even by a long shot.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

 

Leave a Reply

