Book review: ”Illuminae”

20161230_191426-1.jpg

Book title: “Illuminae” (The Illuminae Files #1)

Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Publication year: 2015

Number of pages: 599

Format: hardcover

personal copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:

This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.

Review:

Okay, let’s get this rant started. I absolutely loved loved loved this book. It was funny, engrossing and just pure genius. I though that the hype would be too much and this book was just overrated…people keep the hype up. This book is worth the hype!

First let’s talk plot. It was nice and had a lot of things going on. The ship Lincoln following them, the troubles among the people and the virus. I love the idea of space zombies. Zombies are awesome and so is space. Put those two together and you have my attention.

I really enjoyed the idea that the AI was also the enemy of people. An uberintelligent computer system gone rogue. It is actually really scary to think that a program would do something like murder thousands of people just because it thinks it is for the better good.

“Am I not merciful?”

The format of the book-the emails, files etc.- gave the story on really nicely. At first it was a bit tough to get into it but once I got the hang of how things were I couldn’t put the book down.  And I actually had a movie running in front of my eyes while reading…it was epic.

The fact that this book was so full of cussing and swearing made it a thousand times funnier and also more realistic. Because I seriously don’t want to believe that everyone would speak as if their mouths had been cleaned out with soap when they were in a situation like that. 

One thing I also liked was that the emails and chats between characters were just the way you would expect teenagers to write. There were typos, emojis and I felt at peace reading them because there is no such thing as a teenager with perfect grammar especially while chatting to a friend.

The characters were some of the best I have read of in a while. They were funny and completely won me over with how passionate they were about the things they did. Kady and Ezra were cute as all hell and the end of the book was ❤ ❤ ❤

“You deserve every star in the galaxy laid out at your feet and a thousand diamonds in your hair. You deserve someone who’ll run with you as far and as fast as you want to. Holding your hand, not holding you back.”   

Kady was one badass chick..like can I marry you please? I am completely in love with her now. She was brave and also kind of foolish with a death wish, I like my women crazy I guess.

“I am frequently underestimated. I think it’s because I’m short.”

I have never been too much of a fan of sci-fi but this book has changed it. If the other sci-fi books out there are as great as this then I am a new fan.

I just don’t think I have any words to actually give on what I felt while reading this book. All I have to say is that I cannot wait to read the second book and see where this story goes next. (And please give me the third book!!!!)

“Miracles are statistical improbabilities. And fate is an illusion humanity uses to comfort itself in the dark. There are no absolutes in life, save death.”   

Stunning stunning stunning ashdkaguhdlahf I am literally dead.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

 

Leave a Reply

