Book review: ”Gemina”

20170104_195822.jpg

Book title: ”Gemina” (The Illuminae Files #2)

Author: Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff

Publication year: 2016

Number of pages: 663

Format: paperback

personal copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:

Moving to a space station at the edge of the galaxy was always going to be the death of Hanna’s social life. Nobody said it might actually get her killed.

The sci-fi saga that began with the breakout bestseller Illuminae continues on board the Jump Station Heimdall, where two new characters will confront the next wave of the BeiTech assault.

Hanna is the station captain’s pampered daughter; Nik the reluctant member of a notorious crime family. But while the pair are struggling with the realities of life aboard the galaxy’s most boring space station, little do they know that Kady Grant and the Hypatia are headed right toward Heimdall, carrying news of the Kerenza invasion.

When an elite BeiTech strike team invades the station, Hanna and Nik are thrown together to defend their home. But alien predators are picking off the station residents one by one, and a malfunction in the station’s wormhole means the space-time continuum might be ripped in two before dinner. Soon Hanna and Nik aren’t just fighting for their own survival; the fate of everyone on the Hypatia—and possibly the known universe—is in their hands.

But relax. They’ve totally got this. They hope.

Once again told through a compelling dossier of emails, IMs, classified files, transcripts, and schematics, Gemina raises the stakes of the Illuminae Files, hurling readers into an enthralling new story that will leave them breathless.

Review:

I think it is safe to say now that I have read the second book that this is my favourite sci-fi series. It is mind-blowing and just gaaaahh!!!!

I liked ”Gemina” a lot more than I liked the first book. The characters and the actions in the book hooked with me a lot better and I actually found myself crying at like 2 o’clock in the morning because OMG that twist and then came another twist and I had to keep reading and then the end came and I was just shocked. I am sleep deprived because of this book so excuse the babble.

Again the format of the book is striking and very original. Like nothing I’ve ever read before. I especially loved the journal pages from Hanna’s personal journal which is not something you see in the first book. But her father is the boss there and he had the money and love to get her daughter a journal, because she loved writing and drawing. The drawings were so good, I loved them.

The main characters in this book were again very sassy and kick-ass. Hanna was the ”spoiled rich kid” who had more black belts than I could ever dream of. Her strategy game was strong, because his father saw war games as a good way to pass some time together. Hanna was a great fighter, ruthless and really clever. I at first didn’t like her very much but as the story unfolded I found myself rooting for her.

“And now, born from the ashes, she’s a warrior in bloodied black.”

Nik was the best! I absolutely loved him. He was supposed to be this tough guy who was bad to the bone and was only capable of crime. But he was a total softie, he had a pure heart and his love for the people he cared about motivated him to fight the situation and stick it to the man. He was sarcastic and sassy. Plus I imagined him in my head and he was very very very good-looking.

The relationship between him and Hanna was really nice. It was not insta love or anything that just jumped up in the beginning of the book. It took a little bit of time and did not steer anything away from the main plot.

“And blood and tears and screams did not matter anymore, because at least they are together.”   

Even though I loved Nik, I think the one person who is so far my favourite out of all the characters is Ella. She is Nik’s cousin and the mastermind behind a lot of plans  in order to get rid of the intruders on the ship. She was a really strong and likeable character. Plus my own brains withered because of how smart she was. Also she was sassy and vulgar…gotta love that.

“The decker these ***holes brought with them is top tier, but I’m going to stomp his jelly beans so hard his kids will be born crooked.”   

The readers also got a small visit from out favourites from the first book which was a really pleasant surprise. Kady and Ezra were ready to defend their people and do whatever it took.

When in the first book we had space zombies, then now we have aliens. Aliens that hatched out of cows. That was so weird. I tried explaining it to my friend and we both understood that it makes more sense when you actually read the book. But damn those things gave me the creeps.

The Analyst writing the overviews of camera footage cracked me up. In the first book as well as the second. I also love that in the beginning there was a small apology that the analyst was no Shakespeare. The way the summaries were written was really funny and engaging.

The sequel to ”Illuminae” was full of action and drama and overall it just appealed to me a lot more. One thing that blew me away was the science behind everything. Like trust me when I say this, but the book will science the poop out of your brain. I was left all confused like ”What the hell?!” . But it made sense when I started really thinking about it.

I cannot write this review without giving too much away. I just want to gush about the whole thing and talk about all the twists but I cannot do that. So just go and get the books, read them and then get all the feels and die waiting for the third book. I NEED IT NOW!!!!

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

