Book review: ”Crescendo”

20170112_073143.jpg

Book title: ”Crescendo” (Hush, Hush #2)

Author: Becca Fitzpatrick

Publication year: 2010

Number of pages: 427

Format: paperback

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 1.5☆

Blurb:

Nora Grey’s life is still far from perfect. Surviving an attempt on her life wasn’t pleasant, but at least she got a guardian angel out of it. A mysterious, magnetic, gorgeous guardian angel. But despite his role in her life, Patch has been acting anything but angelic. He’s more elusive than ever (if that’s possible) and what’s worse, he seems to be spending time with Nora’s archenemy, Marcie Millar.

Nora would have hardly noticed Scott Parnell, an old family friend who has moved back to town, if Patch hadn’t been acting so distant. Even with Scott’s totally infuriating attitude, Nora finds herself drawn to him – despite her lingering feelings that he is hiding something.

If that weren’t enough, Nora is haunted by images of her murdered father, and comes to question whether her Nephilim bloodline has anything to do with his death. Desperate to figure out what happened, she puts herself in increasingly dangerous situations to get the answer. But maybe some things are better left buried, because the truth could destroy everything – and everyone – she trusts.

Review:

Honestly, I was hoping it wouldn’t get worse…it did. I hated it more than the first one.

I found it a lot harder to go through and just didn’t really feel for the story at all. Is it weird that a part of me was screaming ”Kill them all bad guy!” The characters were all stupid and just overall pieces of sh*t.

I don’t really think I can put it into words how unlikeable a character Nora is. She is such a hypocrite. I feel like the very moment she started talking in the book was the moment I sighed and went ”Jesus Christ!” How the hell did she think her accusing Patch of feeling nothing was relevant? He literally told her in the first book that he was incapable of feeling. Nora get your head out of your ass. She made the most moronic decisions and gave the worst explanations to her behavior. What did she think she would actually accomplish stealing Marcie’s diary? Everything she did and said was unprocessed and god I really would have liked to slap her.

Patch was just a weirdo. I mean..you can go rogue in the very end when the person who supposedly makes you feel whole has almost been killed…but you can’t go rogue in the beginning when you find out the truth about everything? Especially when you have allegedly been thinking about doing things your own way? Seriously? What is his brain doing? And I seriously don’t see the charm here ladies and gentleman, but then again Patch and Nora are a perfect pair. A perfect pair of idiots.

Vee was again her stupid self. She is such a big-headed person and only sees things that are right in front of her and are of import to herself. The worst sidekick, seriously. I mean she was kind of a step up from the ”Hush, Hush” Vee , because she didn’t really push Nora into doing stupid stuff this time, in fact she kind of kept her from doing it…unsuccessfully though, so Vee I still hate you.

I just wished I could set the book on fire…but the book ain’t mine so I couldn’t do that.

One thing that again made me roll my eyes so hard I swear they almost stayed rolled back in my head was that THEY SPENT QUITE SOME TIME PINNED AGAINST WALLS! I mean, they broke up and still they managed to make me gag with the wall stuff. Were they trying to recreate some weird fifty shades kind of atmosphere or what? Just stop.Doing.That! Please! It isn’t sexy, it isn’t fun…in fact it is probably very uncomfortable.

I don’t know if I’ll read the whole series. I mean I might just to see how much more worse it can get in the last two books. We’ll see though, because I feel like I will definitely take a small break from this series before I make my decision.

If I could put into words how pointless most of the stuff in this book is then I would be able to do the impossible. There just are no words for this kind of waste of time and paper and words. So much potential in this series, with the plot and characters…all of the potential wasted.

I honestly don’t know if I have ever been this hateful towards a book or a series. I ain’t judging you if you love this, we all have our guilty pleasures and so on. But honestly why was this book so hyped up back when it came out? I guess I shouldn’t have broken my vow to steer clear of this series…curse you friends!

PS. This was so bad I won’t even put quotes here, because this book doesn’t deserve it.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

 

 

Leave a Reply

