January Wrap Up

This month was the first reading month in 2017 and it went amazing! I read more books than I have read in a really long time and the books I read were mostly really good and enjoyable.

My Goodreads reading challenge definitely got a really good start and I cannot wait to see what the rest of the year goes like in terms of reading.

Paperbacks and hardcovers:

1. ”Hush, Hush” by Becca Fitzpatrick

hushhushcover

The year didn’t start with a really good book. It was enjoyable but I honestly didn’t think it was worth all the hype. There were a lot of things that made me angry and you can go and read my review if you want to know more about my thoughts on this. This was a 50/50 for me and I gave this a 2.5 stars on Goodreads.

2. ”Gemina” by Amie Kuafman and Jay Kristoff

gemina

This book was amazing! I thought this was even better than the first book and I just died when I finished this. The story was gripping and the characters really funny and kind of relatable. This book also managed to make me cry. I really want the third book to be here already. Gave this a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads, because it is worth it and so much more.

3. ”Crescendo” by Becca Fitzpatrick

crescendocover1.jpg

I continued with the series and was disappointed. It got so much worse and my brain hurt from reading it. I really disliked the story and characters and honestly would never ever recommend this series to anyone. I will DNF the third book and write a review/explanation post for that one. This got a 1.5 stars on Goodreads.

4. ”Lübecki õigus ja Tallinn” by Tiina Kala

This was a short 4o page book on the municipal law of Lybeck and how it came to be and how exactly it was used in Tallinn. I thought this was a really nice overview of the law and the different stages of ”renovation” it went through. It was also really nice to find out more about the role it played in the lives of the people in medieval Tallinn. Gave this a 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

5. ”Milk and Honey” by Rupi Kaur

23513349.jpg

This was not as good as everyone made it out to be. I felt kind of underwhelmed by it. It was good, but nothing sensational in my opinion. I have definitely read better poems and this was just average at best for me. I gave it a 2.5 stars on Goodreads.

6. ”Krabat” by Otfried Preussler

079322b58c7fc1f386ef82d7789616f5.jpg

This was my first reread of 2017. One of my goals this year is to reread some of my old favourites and I decided to start with this. I like this book a lot but my rating did change a bit. I do recommend this book, especially around the winter time 😉 This book got a 3 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

Ebooks:

1. ” I’ll Meet You There” by Heather Demetrios

ill-meet-you-there-heather-demetrios

This book broke me. It was so emotional and funny and just beautiful. I haven’t read a contemporary this good in a really long time and I can honestly say that the hype for this book is worth it and everyone should trust the hype and read the book. Gave this a 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

2. ” The Winner’s Curse”  by Marie Rutkoski

16069030.jpg

This book was kind of a let down but then again the end was good. I was waiting for this book to blow me away because of all the great things people have said, but it was just okay and didn’t really catch my attention at first. I am willing to give this trilogy a try though. I gave this 3.5 stars on Goodreads.

DNF:

1. ”Silence” by Becca Fitzpatrick

th.jpg

This book was boring and bad. I didn’t feel like making myself sad by reading it anymore so I gave up and wrote a review/explanation for why exactly I disliked the book. I gave it a 1 star rating. And I am definitely not going to finish this or the series. Ever.

My favourite book of the month is hard to choose because the decision needs to be made between two books, but it is: ”Gemina” , the book was just so much better than I thought it would be and this trilogy overall has made me fall more in love with sci-fi.

The title for least favourite book of the month goes to: ”Crescendo” because this series is a flop and honestly this title should actually go to ”Silence” as well.

What books did you read? What were your favourites? Let me know down in the comments 🙂

4 comments

  1. Brookie Cowles · January 31

    I just bought Milk and Honey, I’m nervous to read it now. And I can’t wait to read Gemina!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

