Book review: ”A Court of Mist and Fury”

_IMG4886.JPG

Book title: ”A Court of Mist and Fury” (A Court of Thorns and Roses #2)

Author: Sarah J. Maas

Publication year: 2016

Number of pages: 626

Format: ebook

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:

Feyre survived Amarantha’s clutches to return to the Spring Court—but at a steep cost. Though she now has the powers of the High Fae, her heart remains human, and it can’t forget the terrible deeds she performed to save Tamlin’s people.

Nor has Feyre forgotten her bargain with Rhysand, High Lord of the feared Night Court. As Feyre navigates its dark web of politics, passion, and dazzling power, a greater evil looms—and she might be key to stopping it. But only if she can harness her harrowing gifts, heal her fractured soul, and decide how she wishes to shape her future—and the future of a world cleaved in two.

With more than a million copies sold of her beloved Throne of Glass series, Sarah J. Maas’s masterful storytelling brings this second book in her seductive and action-packed series to new heights.

Review:

This review will probably be a big rambling session, but let me just tell you that this book was amazing. It took me a while to get around to reading it. I started reading it last year actually a little while after it had come out, but then I couldn’t really get into it. But boy oh boy, I am so happy I decided to pick it back up again.

“Hello, Feyre darling,” he purred.”   

Sarah J.Maas is an evil genius when it comes to great plot and characters. She can make everything so gripping and fun, you just can’t put the book down. Well I at first could, but that is beyond the point I am trying to make. It was a reading slump okay?

Feyre grew on me. I definitely liked her more than I did while reading the first book. At first she didn’t seem like a really strong character and I didn’t really find her that appealing. But in the second book I saw a lot more of the beauty that is her strength and love for the people around her. I really liked how she grew as a character and I cannot wait to see her fury and wrath in the third book. All the enemies have it coming! *muahahaha*

“I was not a pet, not a doll, not an animal.
I was a survivor, and I was strong.
I would not be weak, or helpless again
I would not, could not be broken. Tamed.”   

Rhysand. Was. The. Best. Can I just get one? Is he on sale on Amazon or something? I liked him already in the first book, because he was sassy and dark and right up my alley, but in the second book his true colours shined and I was just smitten immediately by him. I love him so so so much! The relationship between him and Feyre was really well written.

“He thinks he’ll be remembered as the villain in the story. But I forgot to tell him that the villain is usually the person who locks up the maiden and throws away the key. He was the one who let me out.”   

Amren, Mor, Azriel and Cassian were the greatest when it came to friends. Loyal and cunning, I loved every second they were around. All of them got along so well, the humour and jokes was really great and I wish I could have been there with them.

“To the people who look at the stars and wish, Rhys.”
Rhys clinked his glass against mine. “To the stars who listen— and the dreams that are answered.”   

Tamlin was much more aggravating in this book and I really want to smack him with a brick. I’ll do that again if he gets on my nerves in the third book. He was too suffocating and really only ever cared about himself and what was best for him. If I ever met someone like that in real life, they better get as far away as possible, because I cannot stand people like that at all.

This book was action packed, funny and really sexy. The perfect dose of everything that Sarah is good at portraying in her novels. I savoured every sentence in the book and died when it ended. Not going to lie, I got a bit teary-eyed.

The third book is too far away. The 2 of May could not come fast enough. I need the third book, NEED IT.

“And so Tamlin unwittingly led the High Lady of the Night Court into the heart of his territory.”   

I think I actually like this better than I like the ”Throne of Glass” series by her. It just really is too good for words. I don’t think I am really capable of saying anything else about this. I suck at writing reviews for books I love.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

One comment

  1. hiraethforthepages · February 11

    So happy that you enjoyed this book so much! I loved it so much more than I did the first and AHHHH I love Rhys so much! Feyre was definitely what I felt was a more complex and interesting character in this book and I fell in love with the friendships so much! Great review! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

