Favourite Contemporaries

So in light of it being Valentine’s Day, I have decided to write a post about my favourite contemporaries and romantic books. There are a lot I have read but there are a select few that have actually really impressed me and moved me to tears (sometimes).

What better way to spend this day than to read books and read about books that are really sweet and cheesy, emotional and so on and so on.

1. ”Aristotle and Dante Discover the Secrets of the Universe” by Benjamin Alire Saenz

12000020.jpg

This book is probably my favourite YA contemporary and I will always recommend this to everyone. I absolutely loved reading this book and I was so happy when my friend gave this to me for my birthday, because I read the ebook version. This book shows a beautiful story of two young boys who become friends and then things evolve and they fall in love. I love how strong the family aspect is in the book and the respect, support their families have for their relationship. This book made my heart hurt and I wish to read more books as good as this one.

2. ”Between Us and the Moon” by Rebecca Maizel

20807316.jpg

This book made me cry. I think this was one of the very first contemporary books that made me cry. It is about a girl who in order to figure out how society works, so to say, starts dressing and acting like her sister. This results in her getting the attention of a guy she falls for, but she has to lie in order to keep the relationship going. This was a good novel about truth and figuring out who the main character was. It was a hearbreaker and it definitely isn’t a happy-go-lucky book.

3. ”All the Bright Places” by Jennifer Niven

18460392

This one also made me cry. It was a really moving story about two young people who are in a really tough place and try to find solace in each other. Again this is not your average fluffy romance book, but it was a really good punch to the gut and it totally tore my heart out. There have been very many mixed reviews for this book but I do recommend this one.

4. ”Hopeless” by Colleen Hoover

cvr9781476743554_9781476743554_hr.jpg

I am a big fan of sad contemporaries. I just feel like the stories are much more believable and I guess the writing just fits me better. This was the first CoHo book I read and I was blown away by the rawness of the book and characters. It could be too much for some people but I do recommend you read this book first if you haven’t read anything by Colleen Hoover.

5. ”Since You’ve Been Gone” by Morgan Matson

since-youve-been-gone-9781442435018_hr.jpg

This is now a bot more preppy and positive. This was fun and light, the storyline was really good. It is about Emily whose friend Sloane disappears and leaves a list of things to do. Emily starts doing the things in hope of finding her best friend and acquires the help of Frank. It had a really nice summer vibe to it, there were a lot of cool friends and I recommend this to people who are big fans of fun and easy contemporaries.

6. ”Our Demons, Best Friends” by Diana T. Scott

25526216

If you are looking for a nice trilogy of books that are funny, sweet and romantic then check out the Half of Me trilogy. This is the first book in a trilogy of hospital romance stories. Ava and Sebastian are two troubled spirits and they find happiness together, but they also need to get over whatever shadows haunt them from their pasts. There is a really good cast of characters in this book and it is really funny.

These were the six books I felt like talking about and sharing with you guys. Have you read any of them?

Take care and have a lovely Valentine’s day! ❤

Leave a Reply

