February Wrap Up

In February I read some great books and some not so great, there was also a book I did not like at all. I do feel really great about reading at my own pace and not really thinking too much about the books I wanted to read. I just randomly picked something up and if it kept me interested, finished it.

I read a total of seven books and they varied from fantasy to romance.

Paperbacks and hardcovers:

1. ”Castle in the Air” by Diana Wynne Jones

1017777__UY200_

This is the second book in the Howl trilogy and I found this to be quite funny and entertaining to read. It was a great middle grade fantasy/fairytale and there was a great romance aspect to it. The characters were all strong (in every sense of the word) and likeable, also Sophie and Howl made an appearance in this and I love them both a lot, so that was a plus. I gave this a 3.75 rating on Goodreads.

2. ”Põrgupõhja uus Vanapagan” by A. H. Tammsaare

This was an assigned book for our Literature class and I liked this. The storyline and characters were really interestingly written and it took me some time to get through it, but the end result was really impressive. I got an A analyzing this book so yay 😉 It was great but definitely not the best Estonian book I have read, so I gave this a 4 star rating on Goodreads.

3. ”Days of Blood and Starlight” by Laini Taylor

12812550.jpg

I read the first book ”Daughter of Smoke and Bone” a really long time ago and really loved it. And was kind of disappointed that the second book did not even come close to the awesomeness which was the first one. It was an okay book and I can’t really say that I hated it. But it was rather slow and uneventful and so seemed kind of boring. It did have its perks though and a few great lines and so on and in light of that I gave this 3.75 stars out of 5 on Goodreads.

Ebooks:

1. ”Love Me While I’m Gone” by Diana T. Scott

28964475

Diana’s books are so easy to read, funny and sweet. I liked the first one better but this was also a nice contemporary which takes place in a hospital (most of the time) and talks about the doctors. I really like how at the end of the books there is a list of songs the author associates with the book and I loved listening to all the songs when I finished the book. I found some new music and got to listen to some old favourites. This book was overall very impressive and I gave it 4.5 stars on Goodreads.

2. ”A Court of Mist and Fury” by Sarah J. Maas

17927395

HELL TO THE YES WITH THIS ONE!!!!! I finally picked it up again after failing to read it when I was in a slump and my god, I am so happy I did. This book was everything I’d expect from Sarah and so much more. The action, characters, love, friendship and THE LOVE, LIKE RHYSAND AND FEYRE ARE PERFECTION! I need a Rhysand. Please give me one. I, of course gave this 5 out of 5 stars on Goodreads.

3. ”Chasing Spring” by R. S. Grey

cover.png

This book was a complete let-down. I had been expecting this to be a seriously amazing book because of all the hyped reviews. The reality was that it was quite boring and felt unfinished. There were so many things that bothered me about the storyline and characters, the writing was a bit meh. I just really wanted to like this but it wasn’t really possible. I gave this 1 star out of 5 on Goodreads.

4. ”The Deal” by Elle Kennedy

91frguab8tl-_sl1500_

This was a really funny NA book about college and relationships. It was enjoyable and I definitely laughed a couple of times. One thing that I didn’t like was that a lot of the conversations seemed a bit too much. Like, I definitely sensed there were a couple of parts where the author could’ve pulled back but those didn’t really ruin the rest of the book. It was a fast read and I think I’ll read the next three as well. I gave this book 4 stars on Goodreads.

My favourite book of the month is obviously ”Court of Mist and Fury” , because it was amazing and I just cannot wait until I get to read the third book.

And my least favourite book of the month will have to be ”Chasing Spring”, this book was chasing a good review from me as well but failed to catch one. Sorry.

Leave a Reply

