Book review: ”Crooked Kingdom”

20170410_083554.jpg

Book title: ”Crooked Kingdom” (Six of Crows #2)

Author: Leigh Bardugo

Publication year: 2016

Number of pages: 536

Format: paperback

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 5☆

Blurb:

Welcome to the world of the Grisha.

After pulling off a seemingly impossible heist in the notorious Ice Court, criminal prodigy Kaz Brekker feels unstoppable. But life is about to take a dangerous turn – and with friends who are among the deadliest outcasts in Ketterdam city, Kaz is going to need more than luck to survive in this unforgiving underworld.

As gripping, sweeping and memorable as the Grisha trilogy – SHADOW AND BONE, SIEGE AND STORM and RUIN AND RISING – this novel is perfect for fans of Laini Taylor, Kristin Cashore and GAME OF THRONES.

Review:

This book gave me a serious hangover. I just don’t think any book could be as good as this one…at least not right now. One thing that is certain is that I loved this book a lot more than the first one.

“Fear is a phoenix. You can watch it burn a thousand times and still it will return.”   

The plot just like in  ”Six of Crows” was absolutely amazing. It was intricate, interesting, fast-paced and it was really hard to put it down. I was again amazed by the logic behind all the plans and schemes, just when I thought I was catching onto something, it all changed.

Wylan and Jesper are probably one of my main OTPs and I freaked out when they finally had their moment. They are just too precious. Matthias and Nina were the same bickering couple and it was just really cute. The duology actually, I guess,  has three OTPs, even though the one that is Kaz and Inej wasn’t exactly the best…I feel like Inej deserved better. But I did like Kaz, he is a total anti-hero.

“I don’t hold a grudge. I cradle it. I coddle it. I feed it fine cuts of meat and send it to the best schools. I nurture my grudges, Rollins.”   

This book made me cry, which just shows how much I love the characters and the story. I don’t want to say too much, because maybe someone hasn’t read this, but just know that one character died and it broke me. I cried for like a solid half hour.

“I don’t like this.”
“To be fair, Matthias, you don’t like much.”   

It is so hard to review books that I love, because I never have the words to put my feelings out there for everyone to read. Leigh Bardugo has created the best world full of magic and political intrigue and deceit. I have to get around to reading the Grisha trilogy, which came before the ”Six of Crows”.

“Suffering is like anything else. Live with it long enough, you learn to like the taste.”   

I seriously have no idea what else to say. A cunning story that will make every reader hold their breath, waiting for the next twists and turns. Highly recommend reading this ❤

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

 

Leave a Reply

