Book review: ”Passenger”

20170414_140448.jpg

Book title: ”Passenger” (Passenger #1)

Author: Alexandra Bracken

Publication year: 2016

Number of pages: 496

Format: paperback

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 2☆

Blurb:

In one devastating night, Etta Spencer loses everything she knows and loves. Thrust into an unfamiliar world by a stranger with a dangerous agenda, Etta is certain of only one thing: she has travelled not just miles but years from home.

Nicholas Carter is content with his life at sea, free from the Ironwoods – a powerful family in the Colonies – and the servitude he’s known at their hands. But with the arrival of an unusual passenger on his ship comes the insistent pull of the past that he can’t escape and the family that won’t let him go. Now the Ironwoods are searching for a stolen object of untold value, one they believe only Etta, his passenger, can find.

Together, Etta and Nicholas embark on a perilous journey across centuries and continents, piecing together clues left behind by the traveller who will do anything to keep the object out of the Ironwoods’ grasp. But as they get closer to their target, treacherous forces threaten to separate Etta not only from Nicholas but from her path home forever.

Review:

The first book in a duology and a book with a promising premise. It was disappointing.

I had such high hopes for this book and sadly have to say that I was underwhelmed.

tumblr_n3es6ippw81smcbm7o1_500

The aspect of time travel seemed so great and since I haven’t really read any books that have time travel in them, I was intrigued. The book has great reviews on Goodreads, but there were a few that aren’t that happy about the book. Here I am now, one of those who has to say the book fell short of what it promised to be.

“It’s our choices that matter in the end. Not wishes, not words, not promises.”

First of all there was so much left unanswered or things that weren’t described and were left vague. I had so many questions at the end of the book. Also I hoped it would be a lot more action-packed and more circled around the time periods that were used in the book. I would have liked to see the history a bit more. As for the action it was all very soft and mild. The whole business with the one family trying to get control and conflicts between all the characters could have been so exciting.

The main character, Etta, was sassy and that is something I always respect. Other than that she wasn’t really that memorable. I did like that she walked into danger without overanalyzing everything.

“Good ideas had in the dark were generally best left there.”   

The book was told from two perspectives, one was Etta’s and the second Nicholas’. His one was rather boring. He wasn’t a well-rounded character and he wasn’t in my opinion very 18th century…which is where he was from. The romance between her and Etta was nonexistent in my opinion, no chemistry whatsoever and it was just too far-fetched. I think, they were good buds, definitely not more. There just wasn’t any real reason for them to be so head over heels in love with each other.

Things got interesting in the end when Etta’s mother appeared and teamed up with Nicholas. I am going to read the second book, mainly because I bought it with ”Passenger” and don’t want to let the money go to waste. But I also know that people liked ”Wayfarer” better. And I would like to see where everything and everyone ends up.

“There are rules, but rules may be rewritten if only one hand holds the ink.”   

I do hope the conclusion is better with the detailing and building of the world. The time travel aspect in this book was great, don’t get me wrong. A lot of things were well thought out and explained, but it did feel incomplete in a way.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

2 comments

  1. starcrownedbookthrone · April 19

    Awww its a shame you didn’t enjoy this one! Its on my TBR and I’ve heard quite some mixed things about it – great to hear your thoughts! I’m always for a sassy character though so hopefully I’ll enjoy the main character!

    Liked by 1 person

    • gertakrapivnitski · April 19

      Yeah, it was just lacking something. But Etta is really sassy and I do recommend you read it, maybe you end up loving it 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

