Book review: ”Hole in the Middle”

20170421_222405.jpg

Book title: ”Hole in the Middle”

Author: Kendra Fortmeyer

Publication year: 2017 (July 6th 2017)

Number of pages: 368

Format: paperback, sent for review, proof copy

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 4☆

Blurb:

How do you know who you are when part of you is missing?

Morgan, a Raleigh teen who’s spent her life concealing the eerie hole in her torso, confronts a world obsessed with body image, internet celebrity, and unlikely love stories.

Review:

This book was sent to me by Hachette UK. This is the very first proof copy of a book I have read and I was really excited to read something a few months before it is supposed to come out.

”Hole in the Middle” is a YA novel about a 17-year-old girl who has a hole in her body. Anyone could literally put a fist through her body…not that she would let that happen of course. Then one day she is told there is a way to help her, as well as a teenage boy. It was quite an original and quirky book.

I liked this book for the sassy characters and the fact that they very well depicted what friendships are like, including all the ups and downs. Morgan as a main character at times seemed annoying but did make up for it. Caro was such an amazing girl, she was very positive towards life and towards her and everyone else’s bodies. She was there for Morgan and Morgan was there for her.

This book, of course, has romance in it and I didn’t mind it at all. It was sweet. One thing that bothered me about the novel was the timeline. It was so confusing because it moved between two days and then suddenly weeks had passed and I sort of felt like maybe I was missing something.

Morgan had a very strange relationship with her mother and it seemed to me like it wasn’t really solved and I would have liked for that to have happened. There were also a few strange mistakes within the story regarding some details, but it could be my mistake for maybe not noticing some things.

It was fun and I do think readers have a lot to look forward to in July.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

