June Book Haul

I have been gone for such a long time, I am so sorry. But to be fair, I have had a lot on my plate lately and so haven’t been able to write or read as much.

I think maybe now I’ll get around to reviewing more and just giving updates on my blog. There is still one book that was sent to me for review and I.HAVEN’T.READ.IT. I am a horrible person.

Just because I didn’t feel like reading this month, does not mean I didn’t visit the book store a couple of times. Here are the few books I got in June.

1. ”Armastuskirju teatrile” by Jim Ashilevi

E9789949587292.jpg

I listen to a podcast that Jim Ashilevi is a co-host of and I really love it. So after listening to their show and also hearing about Jim’s career as an author, I decided it was about time to read one of his books. I picked this one up, because it was the one that seemed the most interesting to me. The concept is that he writes love letters to the theatre, because he is an actor as well as an author, and in those letters he has a one-sided discussion with the theatre and everything that he thinks about it. I will have more in-depth thoughts in my review, which I am working on, but just know that this has been one of the coolest books I have read in 2017 so far.

2. ”Frankenstein” by Mary Shelley

9780141198965.jpg

I have wanted to read this book again for a really long time, I read it ages ago and don’t remember much. Also, when I first read it I read it in Estonian, and now I really want to read the English version of it.  We talked about this book in English Lit and it made me want to drown myself in English classics and I think this is a good book to begin with. I bought the Penguin English Library edition, because I absolutely love it and I think it is safe to say that this is my absolute favourite cover out of the collection.

3. ”Sword of Destiny” by Andrzej Sapkowski

18215192.jpg

I got the second Witcher book in Poland, because I decided it was about time to go on with this series and also the book was cheaper there than in Estonia. The second book is also a collection of short stories that lead up to the events in the full novels and I am really excited to see what happens next with Gerald. I don’t remember much from the first book actually when it comes to details, I do remember the overall plot of the short stories, so it might be a good idea to also read that one again or at least do some research to jog my memory.

 

Leave a Reply

