Book review: “Geekerella”

20170710_174307.jpg

Book title: ”Geekerella”

Author: Ashley Poston

Publication year: 2017

Number of pages: 320

Format: paperback

Amount of stars I gave on Goodreads: 4☆

Blurb:

Anything can happen once upon a con…

When geek girl Elle Wittimer sees a cosplay contest sponsored by the producers of Starfield, she has to enter. First prize is an invitation to the ExcelsiCon Cosplay Ball and a meet-and-greet with the actor slated to play Federation Prince Carmindor in the reboot. Elle’s been scraping together tips from her gig at the Magic Pumpkin food truck behind her stepmother’s back, and winning this contest could be her ticket out once and for all—not to mention a fangirl’s dream come true.

Teen actor Darien Freeman is less than thrilled about this year’s ExcelsiCon. He used to live for conventions, but now they’re nothing but jaw-aching photo sessions and awkward meet-and-greets. Playing Federation Prince Carmindor is all he’s ever wanted, but the diehard Starfield fandom has already dismissed him as just another heartthrob. As ExcelsiCon draws near, closet nerd Darien feels more and more like a fake—until he meets a girl who shows him otherwise.

Review:

I read this book for a group that I am a member of on Goodreads, called Crush that TBR.

The book, just like I thought it would be, was cute and adorable.I am a huge sucker for anything and everything that is a ”remake” of the Cinderella story. All the movies that have been made are honestly such guilty pleasure movies and when I first heard about this book I was more than excited to read it.

It was told from two POVs: that of Cinderella or Geekerella and the Prince.

The main character Elle was sassy and confident, but still doubted herself from time to time and it was really easy to actually like her. I found her quick friendship with Sage really endearing. They worked really well together and it was a really nice take on the Fairy Godmother situation.

“-Elle, we might not know much about each other, and I might not be there, and you might not be here, but I’m glad I share this sky with you.
-Maybe we should start looking up together, ah’blena” 

The ”prince” was a famous teen actor named Darien, and his point of view was entertaining to read. There were a few moments when the things he thought made me feel like skipping his chapters, but I made it through them and all of them were not as silly as I thought they would be.

The relationship between Darien and Elle was very instantaneous. I mean it was so in the Cinderella story as well, but I wished it had been dragged out a bit more or seemed a bit more special. But it was great that it wasn’t just one night and BAM! love. They texted first and that way it didn’t seem that unimaginable.

“My dad said that the impossible is only impossible if you don’t even try. So I want to try.”

The evil stepmother and sisters were, just as always, very unlikeable, although Cal did have a nice side and, her and Sage was a really nice twist in the story. The way the book was written was fun and easy to read, there were some great one-liners and overall I enjoyed the whole book a lot.

“She wears life like Elvis wore sequins, with no apology laced into the seams.” 

Because I myself am a crazy fangirl, then the whole atmosphere of the book and the emotions of the characters towards their beloved show was something I could relate to a lot.

“Look to the stars. Aim. Ignite.” 

This was a very short review on ”Geekerella” just to give an overview of my thoughts and to prove to everyone I am still alive and well 🙂 It might take me some time to get used to writing reviews again, I had such a hard time writing this, because I have been procrastinating like hell. I have some serious consistency problems, people.

Check the book out on Goodreads here.

Leave a Reply

